One Moment
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Social Situations » Dating & Sex

One Moment

By Kristina McBride

This item is no longer available.

We will email you if this item comes back into stock.

Rating:
 
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Hardcover, 261 pages
Published In: United States, 26 June 2012
Following on the heels of her "must read" debut novel ("New York Times" best-selling author Jay Asher) "One Moment" is perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman." "This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie s life. Now it s the one she d do anything to forget. Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below dead? As Maggie s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding? The latest novel from the author of "The Tension of Opposites," "One Moment" is a mysterious, searing look at how an instant can change everything you believe about the world around you. Praise for "One Moment" "Infused with page-turning mystery, "One Moment" is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic." Cat Patrick, author of "Forgotten "and "Revived """One Moment" took my breath away. Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages." Lauren Barnholdt, author of "Two-Way Street """"A page-tuner that grabbed me by the throat, and was impossible to put down!" Katrina Kittle, author of "Reasons to Be Happy ""Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers."" Kirkus Reviews ""McBride (Th"e Tension of Opposites") skillfully interweaves Maggie s flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery." "Publishers Weekly""

About the Author

Kristina McBride is a former English teacher and yearbook advisor. She s published one previous novel, "The Tension of Opposites," which the "Deseret News" called engrossing and fascinating, painful and hopeful. She lives in Ohio with her husband and two children. Visit her online at www.kristinamcbride.com."

Reviews

Gr 9 Up-Maggie and Joey are the perfect couple. He's outgoing and a little crazy, while she's a little more cautious and calm. They have a fantastic group of friends, and the summer between their junior and senior year stretches out in front of them. They're looking forward to parties, hanging at the pool, and the jumping hole. Everyone has jumped numerous times, except Maggie. Her fear of heights has always stopped her, but this time is different. As she prepares to jump with Joey, everything goes blank. There is yelling and her friends find her hiding in the bushes. And Joey is dead. Maggie can't remember a thing from the cliff top and the police are asking questions. Her friends are falling apart around her. Then little things start to happen that make them all begin to realize that Joey was not the legend they thought he was and that they all have secrets. The question becomes not will Maggie remember what happened, but will their friends survive this trauma. One Moment explores themes of loss, friendship, love, grief, and betrayal, and McBride does an excellent job of keeping them from becoming overwhelming. Readers will feel the bond between the teens and their pain. The big reveal is a little obvious, but it doesn't detract from the compelling story.-Melyssa Kenney, Parkville High School, Baltimore, MD (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

EAN: 9781606840863
ISBN: 160684086X
Publisher: Egmontusa
Dimensions: 21.34 x 13.97 x 2.79 centimeters (0.39 kg)
Age Range: 10-14 years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Reviews

Review this Product

BAD GOOD
 

Related Searches

 
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.