Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles)
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Action & Adventure

Quintana of Charyn

Lumatere Chronicles

By Melina Marchetta

Elsewhere US$25.31 US$14.81   Save US$10.50 (41%)
Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from USA
Rating:
 
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Paperback, 515 pages
Published In: United States, 01 May 2014
The climactic conclusion of Printz Award winner Melina Marchetta s epic fantasy trilogy! Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child s right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn and Isaboe of Lumatere come face-to-face in a showdown that will result in heartbreak for one and power for the other. The complex tangle of bloodlines, politics, and love introduced in Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles coalesce into an engrossing climax in this final volume."

About the Author

Melina Marchetta is the acclaimed and award-winning author of Jellicoe Road, which won the Michael L. Printz Award; Saving Francesca and its companion novel, The Piper s Son; Looking for Alibrandi; and the first two volumes in the Lumatere chronicles, Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles. She lives in Australia."

Reviews

Marchetta, known for her mastery of character, shows herself here to have conquered the intricacies of plot, worldbuilding and theme...Readers will have a hard time forgetting the complex, deeply human characters that populate this multifaceted narrative. Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Marchetta triumphantly concludes the trilogy that began with Finnikin of the Rock, as the kingdoms of Lumatere and Charyn attempt to bridge past atrocities through a new generation of leaders...One of the hallmarks of this series has been the complexity and attention Marchetta gives to both primary and secondary characters, creating a richly human cast of damaged but noble individuals...Readers who have fallen in love with Quintana, Froi, Finnikin, Isaboe, and others will eagerly seek out what fate has in store for them. Publishers Weekly (starred review) The plot is more straightforward, while the previous volumes excellent features world-building, plotting, and characterization continue to shine. Marchetta builds on the reader s knowledge of this world, adding rich sensory details to enhance the sense of place...A stand-out fantasy series. Booklist (starred review) [T]he book will mesmerize readers with several hair-raising moments that ratchet up tension; memorably detailed descriptions provide vivid images of the setting; and Marchetta s themes of belonging and forgiveness are powerfully wrought. Fans of Megan Whelan Turner and Elizabeth Wein should find this exceptional series especially compelling. The Horn Book"

EAN: 9780763669300
ISBN: 076366930X
Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA)
Dimensions: 22.35 x 15.24 x 3.56 centimeters (0.54 kg)
Age Range: 10-14 years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Review this Product

BAD GOOD
 

Related Searches

 

This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.