Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Abandon (The Abandon Trilogy)
By

Rating
New or Used: US$9.94
New or Used: US$9.94

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Perfect for fans of Stephenie Meyer, P. C. Cast and Alyson No?l. Exciting and seductive, explores the dangerous mythology of the Underworld. Will be backed by a high-impact marketing and PR campaign. Fantastic stand-out package. 15 million Meg Cabot books sold around the world. Fully promoted on www.megcabot.co.uk and to the 10,000 fans signed up to receive regular MegAlert emails!

About the Author

Meg Cabot is the author of the phenomenally successful The Princess Diaries series as well as many other bestselling novels. She and her husband divide their time between Florida and Indiana.

Reviews

The wildly rich and beautiful Pierce Oliviera died and came back to life-"I was flatline for over an hour." Ever since, her life has been exceedingly complicated. Two years after Pierce's near-death experience, the 17-year-old has been expelled from her posh Connecticut girls' school; her mother has moved them to the South Florida island of Isla Huesos; and Pierce must cope both with being the new girl and with a dark, handsome guy, who she met while she was dead and who won't leave her alone. While the fun premise and Pierce's irreverent voice are trademark Cabot, this novel has trouble getting off the ground. Cabot loosely hangs her story on the myth of Hades and Persephone, but the plot is hampered by confusing digressions and frequent jumps in time that make it difficult to pinpoint what's in the present and what's in the past. However, Cabot's avid fans-including devotees of her earlier forays into paranormal romance, as in the Mediator series-are likely to forgive the bumpy start to this planned trilogy. Ages 12-up. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Gr 7-10-With this trilogy, loosely based on the Greek myth of Persephone, Cabot takes to the dark side. Pierce Oliviera, Abandon's troubled heroine, returns from the dead after an underworld deity romances her and gives her a rare diamond that anticipates danger. Despite this juicy premise, the book starts out a little slow, crowded with plot developments and foreboding. What follows Pierce's return to Earth is a nightmare. A friend commits suicide, a teacher is maimed, a jewelry store owner nearly dies from a heart attack, all of this told, not shown. Blaming herself for these tragedies, Pierce fails at school. Her mother, desperate for a new start, moves her to the place where she grew up: Isla Huesos, the island of bones. There, Pierce's Uncle Chris is newly released from prison. The cemetery where she first met the deity, John, is an easy bike ride away. And her father, a wealthy industrialist, has ruined the natural environment, including the birds his ex-wife studies and is trying to protect. Top that off with a group of preppies who defy school rules for a senior tradition called "coffin night." Cabot manages to keep this hodgepodge balanced, but the steamy relationship between Pierce and John is just starting. Of course, teens-especially restless fans of "Twilight"-will want to see what happens next. Stay tuned as readers are strung along for a wild, if not yet passionate, attention-grabber.-Tina Zubak, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, PA (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Praise for Meg Cabot:
"Cabot shows the dark side behind the bling-blingy superficial worlds." --Teenreads.com
"[The] strong, amusing voice, the plot twists, and the possibility of romance will draw mystery and chick-lit readers alike." --ALA Booklist
"Bag the tiara and get out the gun ... Cabot delivers." --Publishers Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top