We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Among the Hidden


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series. A graduate of Miami University (of Ohio), she worked for several years as a reporter for The Indianapolis News. She also taught at the Danville (Illinois) Area Community College. She lives with her family in Columbus, Ohio. Visit her at HaddixBooks.com.


This futuristic novel focuses on a totalitarian regime and the Internet. PW noted, "The plot development is sometimes implausible and the characterizations a bit brittle, but the unsettling, thought-provoking premise should suffice to keep readers hooked." Ages 8-12. (Mar.) Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.

Gr 4-7-This first title in Margaret Peterson Haddix's Shadow Children series (S & S, 1998) introduces listeners to a time in the not-so-distant future when having more than two children is illegal. Luke Garner is a third child, a shadow child, whose existence is punishable by death. Luke has spent his whole life hiding until one day he catches a glimpse of another third child in a new house near his home. Luke discovers Jen, a bold girl who makes him dream of freedom. Jonathan Davis's narration of this futuristic thriller draws listeners in and makes the story come alive. School and public libraries will want to add this well-produced title to their audio collections.-Shauna Yusko, St. Monica School, Mercer Island, WA Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top