Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

And Only to Deceive
By

Rating
New or Used: US$10.33
;
New or Used: US$10.33
Product Description
Product Details

Reviews

In this charming late Victorian romantic suspense novel, Emily, a young and beautiful widow, regrets her husband's African hunting expedition death less than is proper. The late Philip, Viscount Ashton, had a passion for classical antiquity, and Emily, in an attempt to get to know her husband postmortem, uses her newfound independence in London to study it. In the process, she forms a friendship with Cecile du Lac, a Parisian of a certain age, and realizes that there was more to Philip than she realized-including his genuine passion and love for her. The charming Colin Hargreaves may have been involved with Philip in art forgeries, and Andrew Palmer proposes to Emily and then offers evidence that Philip is still alive. By this time, Emily and Cecile are a well-practiced team of amateur sleuths: Phillip's secrets begin to emerge, and travel to Greece provides the possibilities of a new life. Alexander makes Emily light but sympathetic, and conveys period flavor without being ponderous. Her knowledge of the ethical dilemmas posed by Victorian etiquette is considerable; sexual chemistry in particular is handled with exquisite delicacy. The archeological background will lure readers who like to dig for their clues. (Oct.) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

"An admirable and literate debut novel." -- Nashville Tennessean "Charming." -- Publishers Weekly "An entertaining debut." -- Nashville Scene An entertaining debut. --Nashville Scene Charming. --Publishers Weekly "An entertaining debut."--Nashville Scene "Had Jane Austen written The Da Vinci Code, she may well have come up with this elegant novel."--Martha O'Connor, author of The Bitch Posse "The story spans genres, appealing to lovers of suspense, history and romance...historically correct and beautifully done."--South Bend Tribune "Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel."--Denver Post "Engagingly suspenseful and rich with period detail."--BookPage "Charming."--Publishers Weekly "The who-done-it is well designed and fun to follow. Tasha Alexander's historical mystery is terrific."--I LOVE A MYSTERY newsletter "An admirable and literate debut novel."--Nashville Tennessean Had Jane Austen written The Da Vinci Code, she may well have come up with this elegant novel. --Martha O'Connor, author of The Bitch Posse" Charming. --Publishers Weekly" An admirable and literate debut novel. --Nashville Tennessean" An entertaining debut. --Nashville Scene" Engagingly suspenseful and rich with period detail. --BookPage" The who-done-it is well designed and fun to follow. Tasha Alexander s historical mystery is terrific. --I LOVE A MYSTERY newsletter" Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel. --Denver Post" The story spans genres, appealing to lovers of suspense, history and romance...historically correct and beautifully done. --South Bend Tribune"

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top