We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Art of the Engine Driver


Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A powerful novel about the difference one night can make.

About the Author

Steven Carroll was born in Melbourne. His first novel, Remember Me, Jimmy James, was published in 1992. The Art of the Engine Driver (2001) and The Gift of Speed (2004) were shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award, which the final book in the trilogy, The Time We Have Taken, won in 2008. Steven Carroll lives in Melbourne with his partner and son.


Steven Carroll's subtly crafted novel is a poignant exploration of dashed hopes and suburban desperations...A rich and evocative novel with a strong sense of period. * Mail on Sunday *
An exquisitely crafted journey of Australian suburban life . . . fresh and irresistible * Miles Franklin Literary Award Judges, 2002 *
Deceptively simple, this novel has a quiet force * Sydney Morning Herald *
A veritable little gem . . . a beautiful discovery * Elle France *
Subtle, true and profoundly touching . . . from the first lines of this very beautiful novel by Steven Carroll, an indefinable charm is at work * Le Monde *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top