Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Because We Are Bad

The true story of an adolescent with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. From her first days, Lily Bailey knew she was bad. By the age of 13, she had killed someone with a thought, spread untold disease, and ogled the bodies of other children. Only by performing secret routines could she correct her wrongdoing. But it was never enough. Her OCD was severe, and it came with a bizarre twist. This page-turner lights up the mind in the tradition of Mark Haddon and Matt Haig.
Product Details

Table of Contents

1. The Priory 2. My friend 3. The letter 4. New school 5. Mum and Dad 6. Swearing in church 7. Most Apologetic Girl 8. Hambledon 9. Running from words 10. Stumbling 11. Special Needs Department 12. Coming home 13. Doctor,doctor 14. Pills, pills, pills 15. Driving 16. Those who love me 17. Thailand 18. Dublin 19. It is my fault 20. Mental ward 21. Harley Street 22. Urine test 23. Loser, friend 24. Skating 25. Sevenoaks 26. Nursery 27. Journalism 28. Rocky 29. The truth

Promotional Information

Planned campaign with personal appearances in national television and print media. Publication is timed to coincide with the start of Mental Health Awareness Week 2016.

About the Author

Lily Bailey is 22 years old and has Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. She lives in London with her dog Rocky.


Often as chilling as Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar, but also full of so much inner and external turbulence that it reminded me at times of The Bourne Identity and Memento. Readers will root for Lily, even when she is attempting to run away from the realities - and sometimes authorities - chasing her.-- Will Black, HuffPostUK Matt Haig's honest and uplifting look at his own depression last year touched a nerve of many. This year, I think I'll put my best on Lily Bailey's personal journey through a lifetime of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) as non-fiction's best mental health confession. -- Katy Noyes, GoodReads Extremely compelling -- Lucy Clark, The Guardian Charming yet heartbreaking and gripping memoir -- Alison Dotson Blog

Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top