We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Beijing Bureau


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Trevor Watson is a journalist and author with more than half a century of national and international experience. He has been a regular visitor to China since 1979 and was based in Beijing as Bureau Chief for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation from 1988-1990.
He was also variously based as ABC correspondent in Singapore, Papua New Guinea, India and Thailand, and covered the South Pacific. Trevor is the author of 'Tremble and Obey, An ABC Correspondent's Account of the Bloody Beijing Spring' which focuses on the 1989 Tiananmen Square massacre. He is also the recipient for a Walkley Award and The United Nations media prize for excellence in journalism. He was Director of Media for the University of Sydney's Business School for ten years.

Melissa Roberts covered China for Time Magazine, the Christian Science Monitor and The Daily Mail as a freelance journalist from 1988 to 1990. She has worked as a staff correspondent for The Australian and AP DowJones, and covered Singapore and Australia for Newsweek magazine for seven years. Melissa has written five children's books. From 2010 to 2020, she was a senior public relations manager and media manager with NSW Health.

Mike Smith, Australian Financial Review 2018-2020 (left under threat)
Trevor Watson, ABC Beijing 1988-1990
Angus Watson, CNN Hong Kong
Stan Grant, CNN Hong Kong and Beijing
Stephen McDonell, ABC: 2006-2015, BBC: 2015-continuing
Chris Buckley, New York Times 1996 (expelled in 2020)
Rowan Callick , AFR: Hong Kong 1990-1992, The Australian: Beijing 2006-2009 and 2016-2018
Jane Perlez, New York Times: 2016 (expelled in 2020)
Richard McGregor, AFR Beijing and Shanghai: 2000-2009
Richard Thwaites, ABC Beijing: 1978-1983
Helene Chung, ABC Beijing:1983-1985
Melissa Roberts, Freelance Beijing 1988-1990
Jane Hutcheon, ABC Beijing: 1995-2001
Hamish McDonald, Sydney Morning Herald Beijing: 2002-2005
Paul Raffaele, ABC Beijing: 1973-1975
Yvonne Preston, Sydney Morning Herald Beijing: 1975-1978
Uli Schmetzer, Chicago Tribune Beijing 1988-1996
Warren Duncan, ABC: 1975-1978
Kate Wall, ABC Beijing 1990-1992
Ali Moore, ABC 1992-1994
Sue-Lin Wong, The Economist
Michael Cavanagh, ABC 1997-1999
Madeleine O'Dea, AFR 1986

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Back to top