Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Black Echo
By

Rating
New or Used: US$17.26
Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!
Product Details

Promotional Information

Michael Connelly is a No.1 bestseller in hardback and paperback. Reissued in a brand new cover style. All the Michael Connelly backlist is being reissued simultaneously in the superb new look. Michael Connelly's THE LINCOLN LAWYER was a Richard & Judy's Book Club selection. Connelly has won or been nominated for all the major crime writing awards, including the Edgar and the CWA Gold Dagger. He always receives fantastic reviews: 'THE BLACK ECHO is one of the most authentic pieces of crime writing I've ever read. It is an extraordinary story, one that engages the reader on the first page and never lets go' James Lee Burke. 'Michael Connelly is justly regarded as one of the world's finest crime writers' Daily Mail. 'Michael Connelly is one of the very best writers working today in any genre' Carlos Ruiz Zafon in the Sunday Telegraph. 'Ingenious, original and - with every beat of its procedural heart - authentic' Literary Review. 'Far better than its rivals, with a brilliantly organised plot and a genuinely exciting ending' Evening Standard. 'Michael Connelly just has to be the best writer of crime fiction about at the moment' Irish Times.

About the Author

A former police reporter for the Los Angeles Times, Michael Connellyis the author of seven acclaimed Harry Bosch novels: The Black Echo, The Black Ice, The Concrete Blonde, The Last Coyote, Trunk Music, Angels Flight, and A Darkness More Than Night, as well as The Poet, Blood Work and Void Moon. He lives in Los Angeles.

Reviews

Connelly transcends the standard L.A. police procedural with this original and eminently authentic first novel, featuring Hieronymus (aka Harry) Bosch, a former hero cop exiled to the small-time Beverly Hills force. In July, Little, Brown will publish a sequel, Black Ice . (July)

YA-- Harry Bosch likes order, contends that there are no coincidences, and keeps meticulous records in his ``murder book.'' When the body of a former ``tunnel rat'' from Vietnam is found in a drainpipe, Harry is the detective on duty and is called to the scene. His identification of the body begins an investigation that leads to more murder, bank robbery, heroin, diamonds, and betrayal. Connelly's descriptions of autopsies, murder scenes, and police procedure are vivid and realistic. The use of acronyms and police jargon puts readers in the middle of the action. A real page turner with gutty realism and an unusual twist.-- Debbie Hyman, R. E. Lee High School, Springfield, VA

Los Angeles police detective Hieronymus (a.k.a. Harry) Bosch discovers something odd in what appears to be a routine drug overdose case. The victim has a face from Harry's past, a fellow ``tunnel rat'' from Vietnam named Billy Meadows. Convinced that Meadows's death is really murder, Harry searches for the killers and soon clashes with the FBI, investigating Meadows for another reason. Trying to walk through a minefield of deception and corruption in high places, Harry works with FBI agent Eleanor Wish to solve the case before they both get killed. Whose tracks have to be covered at the cost of their lives? Fans of Joseph Wambaugh and William Caunitz will enjoy this realistically detailed police procedural. Connelly, a Pulitzer Prize-winning crime reporter for the Los Angeles Times , knows his turf well and demonstrates it in this complex and satisfying thriller. This one could very well hit the best-seller lists; highly recommended for any popular fiction col lection.-- Dean James, Houston Acad. of Medicine/Texas Medical Ctr. Lib.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top