Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

In this novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Dresden Files, Chicago's only professional wizard takes on a case for a vampire and becomes the prime suspect in a series of ghastly murders. Harry Dresden has had worse assignments than going undercover on the set of an adult film. Like fleeing a burning building full of enraged demon-monkeys, for instance. Or going toe-to-leaf with a walking plant monster. Still, there's something more troubling than usual about his newest case. The film's producer believes he's the target of a sinister curse--but it's the women around him who are dying, in increasingly spectacular ways. Harry's doubly frustrated because he only got involved with this bizarre mystery as a favor to Thomas--his flirtatious, self-absorbed vampire acquaintance of dubious integrity. Thomas has a personal stake in the case Harry can't quite figure out, until his investigation leads him straight to the vampire's oversexed, bite-happy family. Now, Harry's about to discover that Thomas' family tree has been hiding a shocking secret: a revelation that will change Harry's life forever.
Product Details

About the Author

A martial arts enthusiast whose resume includes a long list of skills rendered obsolete at least two hundred years ago, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher turned to writing as a career because anything else probably would have driven him insane. He lives mostly inside his own head so that he can write down the conversation of his imaginary friends, but his head can generally be found in Independence, Missouri. Jim is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera novels, and the Cinder Spires series, which began with The Aeronaut's Windlass.

Reviews

Praise for the Dresden Files "Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer starring Philip Marlowe."--Entertainment Weekly"Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series."--Midwest Book Review "Superlative."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "One of the most enjoyable marriages of the fantasy and mystery genres on the shelves."--Cinescape "Butcher...spins an excellent noirish detective yarn in a well-crafted, supernaturally-charged setting. The supporting cast is again fantastic, and Harry's wit continues to fly in the face of a peril-fraught plot."--Booklist (starred review) "What's not to like about this series?...It takes the best elements of urban fantasy, mixes it with some good old-fashioned noir mystery, tosses in a dash of romance and a lot of high-octane action, shakes, stirs, and serves."--SF Site "A tricky plot complete with against-the-clock pacing, firefights, explosions, and plenty of magic. Longtime series fans as well as newcomers drawn by the SciFi Channel's TV series based on the novels should find this supernatural mystery a real winner."--Library Journal "What would you get if you crossed Spenser with Merlin? Probably you would come up with someone very like Harry Dresden, wizard, tough guy and star of [the Dresden Files]."--The Washington Times Praise for the Dresden Files -Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer starring Philip Marlowe.---Entertainment Weekly-Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series.---Midwest Book Review -Superlative.---Publishers Weekly (starred review) -One of the most enjoyable marriages of the fantasy and mystery genres on the shelves.---Cinescape -Butcher...spins an excellent noirish detective yarn in a well-crafted, supernaturally-charged setting. The supporting cast is again fantastic, and Harry's wit continues to fly in the face of a peril-fraught plot.---Booklist (starred review) -What's not to like about this series?...It takes the best elements of urban fantasy, mixes it with some good old-fashioned noir mystery, tosses in a dash of romance and a lot of high-octane action, shakes, stirs, and serves.---SF Site -A tricky plot complete with against-the-clock pacing, firefights, explosions, and plenty of magic. Longtime series fans as well as newcomers drawn by the SciFi Channel's TV series based on the novels should find this supernatural mystery a real winner.---Library Journal -What would you get if you crossed Spenser with Merlin? Probably you would come up with someone very like Harry Dresden, wizard, tough guy and star of [the Dresden Files].---The Washington Times "Edge-of-your-seat adventure."--SF Site"This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight with its inventiveness and sympathetic hero."--Booklist"Good fun for fans of dary fantasy mystery."--Locus""As usual in Butcher's books, the action begins on page one and moves rapidly from there."--Best Reviews "Edge-of-your-seat adventure." SF Site"This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight with its inventiveness and sympathetic hero." Booklist"Good fun for fans of dary fantasy mystery." Locus""As usual in Butcher's books, the action begins on page one and moves rapidly from there." Best Reviews" "Edge-of-your-seat adventure." SF Site"This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight with its inventiveness and sympathetic hero." Booklist"Good fun for fans of dary fantasy mystery." Locus""As usual in Butcher's books, the action begins on page one and moves rapidly from there." Best Reviews" "Edge-of-your-seat adventure."--SF Site"This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight with its inventiveness and sympathetic hero."--Booklist"Good fun for fans of dary fantasy mystery."--Locus""As usual in Butcher's books, the action begins on page one and moves rapidly from there."--Best Reviews "Edge-of-your-seat adventure."--"SF Site""This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight with its inventiveness and sympathetic hero."--"Booklist""Good fun for fans of dary fantasy mystery."--"Locus"""As usual in Butcher's books, the action begins on page one and moves rapidly from there."--"Best Reviews"

Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top