We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Boleyn King
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Laura Andersen is married with four children, and possesses a constant sense of having forgotten something important. She has a BA in English (with an emphasis in British history), which she puts to use by reading everything she can lay her hands on.

Reviews

Andersen's imaginative debut, the first in a planned trilogy, poses a simple but history-shattering question: What if Anne Boleyn had given Henry VIII a healthy son who had lived? The novel focuses on the increasingly tense atmosphere at court as that son, William, nears his 18th birthday and the end of his uncle's regency. When William discovers that pro-Catholic forces are plotting to take the crown from him and to bestow it on his older sister, Mary, he turns to his three closest friends (including his sister Elizabeth) to help him uncover the conspirators. Romantic entanglements, battlefield drama, and Anne Boleyn's enduring power and legacy all further complicate matters for the dashing young king and his supporters. VERDICT Once the basics of her alternate-history universe have been established, Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that's reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory.-Mara Bandy, Champaign P.L., IL (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Praise for The Boleyn King

"Imaginative . . . Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that's reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory."-Library Journal (starred review)

"Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans."-Booklist (starred review)

"A surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read."-Historical Novels Review

"Andersen's novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados. . . . Her multidimensional characters are so real that readers will wish it was history and eagerly await the next in the trilogy."-RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)

"A wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love."-Deseret News

" 'What if . . .' With these tantalizing words, Laura Andersen creates a fresh and vividly realized alternative world where Anne Boleyn not only lives, but also gives birth to a healthy son who will become King. With the introduction of Minuette, Princess Elizabeth's lady-in-waiting, we meet an extraordinary young woman who embodies love and loyalty, and who fights to find the humanity at the heart of the most glamorous-and dangerous-court in Europe."-Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill's Secretary

"Full of intrigue, conspiracies, and the accurate details so essential to good historical fiction . . . Anyone who has even the slightest fascination with the Tudors will want to devour this delectable novel in a single sitting."-Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Floating City

"
The Boleyn King
deftly blends compelling characters, flawless social history, and courtly romance into an enthralling tale that's impossible to put down."-Stefanie Pintoff, Edgar Award-winning author of Secret of the White Rose

"A sumptuous, vividly imagined novel of a Boleyn king's fateful rise to power amid the treacherous glamour of the Tudor court. A fantastic debut!"-C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen's Vow

"A fascinating journey into what might have been, this novel of alternate history will keep you turning the pages and leave you hoping for a sequel."-Kate Emerson, author of A Royal Inheritance

"Fans of both Stephenie Meyer and Philippa Gregory will find much to love in this evocative and well-written debut."-Francine Mathews, author of Jack 1939

"Immensely addictive and twisty-kudos to Laura Andersen for her crafty plotting and rich characterizations. Deliciously scandalous and seductive, The Boleyn King delivers history and romance with equal passion."-Becca Fitzpatrick, New York Times bestselling author of Hush, Hush

"From the intrigue of the Tudor court to the battlefields of France, you will be entranced by the power, emotion, and sweeping romance of this spellbinding novel. I loved it and can't wait for the next book in the series!"-Syrie James, bestselling author of The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen

"
The Boleyn King
is a riveting page-turner of a tale. I could not put it down. Laura Andersen's splendidly imagined novel provides a fresh take on an era in history that's been done to death. For historical fiction fans and Tudor aficionados, The Boleyn King is a must-read."-Sherry Jones, author of Four Sisters, All Queens

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top