We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Brothers Karamazov


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Part One Book I: The History of a Family 1. Fyodor Pavlovich Karamazov 2. He Gets Rid of His Eldest Son 3. The Second Marriage and the Second Family 4. The third Son, Alyosha 5. Elders Book II: An Unfortunate Gathering 1. They Arrive at the Monastery 2. The Old Buffoon 3. Peasant Women Who Have Faith 4. A Lady of Little Faith 5. So Be It! So Be It! 6. Why Is Such a Man Alive? 7. A Young Man Bent on a Career 8. The Scandalous Scene Book III: The Sensualists 1. In the Servants' Quarters 2. Lizaveta 3. The Confession of a Passionate Heart--in Verse 4. The Confession of a Passionate Heart--in Anecdote 5. The Confession of a Passionate Heart--"Heels Up" 6. Smerdyakov 7. The Controversy 8. Over the Brandy 9. The Sensualists 10. Both Together 11. Another Reputation Ruined Part Two Book IV: Lacerations 1. Father Ferapont 2. At His Father's 3. A Meeting with the Schoolboys 4. At the Hohlakovs' 5. A Laceration in the Drawing Room 6. A Laceration in the Cottage 7. And in the Open Air Book V: Pro and Contra 1. The Engagement 2. Smerdyakov with a Guitar 3. The Brothers Make Friends 4. Rebellion 5. The Grand Inquisitor 6. For a While a Very Obscure One 7. "It's Always Worth While Speaking to a Clever Man" Book VI: The Russian Monk 1. Father Zosima and His Visitors 2. Notes of the Life of the Deceased Priest and Monk, the Elder Zosima, Taken from His Own Words by Alexey Fyodorovich Karamazov 3. Conversations and Exhortations of Father Zosima Part Three Book VII: Alyosha 1. The Breath of Corruption 2. A Critical Moment 3. An Onion 4. Cana of Galilee Book VIII: Mitya 1. Kuzma Samsonov 2. Lyagavy 3. Gold Mines 4. In the Dark 5. A Sudden Resolution 6. "I Am Coming, Too!" 7. The First and Rightful Lover 8. Delirium Book IX: The Preliminary Investigation 1. The Beginning of Perhotin's Official Career 2. The Alarm 3. The Sufferings of a Soul. The First Ordeal 4. The Second Ordeal 5. The Third Ordeal 6. The Prosecutor Catches Mitya 7. Mitya's Great Secret. Received with Hisses 8. The Evidence of the Witnesses. The Babe 9. They Carry Mitya Away Part Four Book X: The Boys 1. Kolya Krasotkin 2. Children 3. The Schoolboy 4. The Lost Dog 5. By Ilyusha's Bedside 6. Precocity 7. Ilyusha Book XI: Ivan 1. At Grushenka's 2. The Injured Foot 3. A Little Demon 4. A Hymn and a Secret 5. Not You, Not You! 6. The First Interview with Smerdyakov 7. The Second Visit to Smerdyakov 8. The Third and Last Interview with Smerdyakov 9. The Devil. Ivan's Nightmare 10. "It Was He who Said That" Book XII: A Judicial Error 1. The Fatal Day 2. Dangerous Witnesses 3. The Medical Experts and a Pound of Nuts 4. Fortune Smiles on Mitya 5. A Sudden Catastrophe 6. The Prosecutor's Speech. Sketches of Character 7. A Historical Survey 8. A Treatise on Smerdyakov 9. The Galloping Troika. The End of the Prosecutor's Speech 10. The Speech for the Defense. An Argument That Cuts Both Ways 11. There Was No Money. There Was No Robbery 12. And There Was No Murder Either 13. A Corrupter of Thought 14. The Peasants Stand Firm Epilogue 1. Plans for Mitya's Escape 2. For a Moment the Lie Becomes Truth 3. Ilyusha's Funeral. The Speech at the Stone

About the Author

With his sympathetic portrayals of the downtrodden of 19th-century Russian society, Fyodor Dostoyevsky (1821-1881) exercised immense influence on modern writers. His novels featured profound philosophical and psychological insights that anticipated the development of psychoanalysis and existentialism.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top