We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!


The Carnival is Over
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Greg Woodland is an author, screenwriter and former director. Since 2000 he’s worked as a freelance script editor and consultant for film funding bodies and the Australian Writers’ Guild and taught screenwriting at Sydney film schools and universities. His first novel, The Night Whistler, was shortlisted for a 2021 Ned Kelly Award.

Reviews

‘The Carnival Is Over was a hair-raising, heart-racing rollercoaster ride of a read. Loved it!’
*Claudine Tinellis*

‘The Carnival is Over starts with a bang and doesn’t let up. Woodland is unafraid to tackle dark themes and his books are a welcome addition to Aussie rural noir.’
*Natalie Conyer, author of Present Tense winner of the 2020 Ned Kelly Best Debut Fiction Award*

‘You don’t have to have read Greg Woodland’s acclaimed debut novel The Night Whistler to thoroughly enjoy his latest, The Carnival is Over…But (five years later) everyone has moved on and become better and worse versions of themselves, but their underlying complexities, strengths and weaknesses are ever apparent…the run through to the climax is a series of twists and turns helmed by a villain grisly enough to cause nightmares. Another stellar performance from a writer at the top of his game.’
*Loraine Peck, author of The Second Son, winner Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut Crime 2021*

‘This atmospheric, fast-paced and suspense-filled novel grabbed me from the first page and didn’t let up until the last. A thoroughly entertaining and terrific sequel.’
*Rae Cairns author of The Good Mother*

‘Troubling undercurrents swirl in a seductively involving story of small-town secrets and obsessions.’
*Garry Disher on The Night Whistler*

‘The Carnival is Over is a complex but tightly woven page-turner, full of expertly portrayed characters that are battling against an array of dark and menacing crimes…if they’re not committing them!...and interspersed with wonderful moments of kindness and humour. If you love well-written Aussie crime thrillers, you’re going to devour this.’
*Lyn Yeowart, author of The Silent Listener*

'A haunting, tense and unforgettable debut.’
*Christian White on The Night Whistler*

‘Greg Woodland's cinematic imagination delivers with this fast-paced journey into 1970s small-town Australia. A thrill-ride into the past.’
*Hayley Scrivenor, author of Dirt Town*

‘Moving between multiple character’s perspectives through short and sharp chapters, from the sergeant to town locals, The Carnival is Over is a fast-paced read that really takes you back in time. Woodland joins a growing number of Australian authors writing brilliant rural crime, and we can’t get enough of them. Fans of Margaret Hickey and Chris Hammer will devour this.’
*Better Reading*

‘Woodland…[draws] the story forward five years...delivering a very different type of crime story, one that digs deep into the culture of small towns at the time...The Carnival is Over is another atmospheric and engaging work of crime fiction from Woodland.’
*Robert Goodman, Pile by the Bed*

‘Gripping.’
*SA Weekend*

‘Thrilling.’
*Australian*

‘With vivid characters adding local colour to the familiar tale of corruption in regional politics…the women in [The Carnival is Over] take centre stage and leave a lasting impression.’
*Sydney Morning Herald*

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 

Back to top