Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Child of the Prophecy (Sevenwaters


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Juliet Marillier achieved international recognition with the publication of the first two award-winning novels in the Sevenwaters Trilogy, a historical fantasy set in Ireland and Britain in the ninth century, and loosely based on the fairy tale "The Six Swans." Her other historical fantasy series include the Viking-inspired Light Isles duology and the Bridei Chronicles set in north Britain in the time of the Picts.


As the daughter of Niamh of the Sevenwaters Clan, Fainne possesses a magic born of the land itself. Instructed by her grandmother, the sorceress Oonagh, Fainne believes she has a destiny to bring about a terrible change in the world. This conclusion to Marillier's historical fantasy, set in an Ireland known only through legends, features a young woman poised between prophecies, destined to decide the fate of her people and the magic entrusted to them. The author captures the feel of myth in this Celtic-laced saga that belongs in most fantasy collections. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

In the final book in her Sevenwaters Trilogy, Australian Marillier gathers the threads from the first two (Daughter of the Forest and Son of the Shadows) and weaves them together into a rich tapestry of love and loss, family loyalty and personal sacrifice. The saga of the guardians of the forest at Sevenwaters takes up the story of Fainne, daughter of the former Druid Ciaran and the lost Niamh. Raised in the ways of magic, Fainne plans to become a solitary sorcerer like her father, but fate intervenes in the form of her grandmother, Oonagh, a sorceress with a penchant for cruelty and a desire to put an end to everything the Sevenwaters folks stand for. A prophecy tells of a way to preserve the old magic, and Lady Oonagh is willing to trick her granddaughter and torture her own son to break it. Though Fainne is forced to bow to her grandmother's will, the love of her family and her own strong ethics help her remember her true nature, as she learns about herself, her powers of sorcery and the part she plays in a prophecy that has tested three generations of women. Though the romance elements that dominated The Son of the Shadows occasionally appear, this book centers on personal growth and filial duty; it can be enjoyed as a read-alone book, but is better understood with the preceding titles. Marillier's strong voice and rolling, lucid prose seem appropriate for a 10th-century Irish tale, and her command of a fantasy story's elements make this an excellent conclusion to a fine trilogy. (Mar. 27) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

"A rich tapestry of love and loss, family loyalty and personal sacrifice... this [is] an excellent conclusion to a fine trilogy." --Publisher's Weekly (starred review)

"Juliet Marillier is among the most skilled of fantasy writers" --Sara Douglass

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top