Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Civil Rights Movement


Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

This book gives readers a comprehensive introduction to the topic of the Civil Rights Movement—arguably the most important political movement of the 20th century—and provides a road map for future study and historical inquiry.

Table of Contents

Series Foreword, Introduction, Chronology of the Movement, ONE "I've Been 'buked and I've Been Scorned": The Rise of Jim Crow and Its Implications for African Americans, TWO "I Want to Be Ready to Put on My Long White Robe": The Political Origins of the Civil Rights Movement, THREE "We Shall Overcome": The Movement in Alabama, FOUR "Ain't Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me 'round": The Movement in Mississippi, FIVE "A Right Denied": Court Decisions and the Civil Rights Movement, Staci M. Rubin SIX "We Shall Not Be Moved": The Quest for Civil Rights outside the Deep South, SEVEN "All Power to the People": Black Power Politics during and after the Civil Rights Movement, EIGHT From Amos 'n' Andy to I Spy: African Americans in Television and Film in the 1960s, Conclusion, Biographies of Figures, Primary Documents, Glossary, Annotated Bibliography, Index,

About the Author

Jamie J. Wilson is associate professor of modern United States and African American history at Salem State University, Salem, MA.


This work is recommended for all African American history and culture collections.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top
We use essential and some optional cookies to provide you the best shopping experience. Visit our cookies policy page for more information.