We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Connect
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A brilliantly and thrillingly smart novel of today and tomorrow, by one of the most original voices in Irish writing, for readers of William Gibson, Station Eleven and Ready Player One.

About the Author

Julian Gough is the author of three previous comic novels and was formerly the lead singer of the underground literary band Toasted Heretic. In 2007 Julian won the BBC National Short Story Award and was shortlisted for the Everyman Bollinger Wodehouse Prize in 2008 and 2012. In 2011 he wrote the ending to Minecraft: Time magazine's computer game of the year. Praise for Julian Gough: 'Julian Gough is a wonderful writer' Sebastian Barry 'An outstanding talent' Observer 'Intelligent . . . and thoroughly entertaining' New York Times (Juno & Juliet) 'Extremely original and surprising' Sunday Independent (Jude) 'Gough makes it look easy, with an instinctive sense of timing, and a razor sharp and subversive intellect' Sunday Tribune (Jude)

Reviews

A dazzling technothriller . . . propulsive and engrossing * Guardian *
Connect is so plugged into the technological zeitgeist . . . This is the world we know, several operating systems down the line . . . Instantly convincing . . . It will subtly change the way you see the world. * Sunday Times *
I found Connect propulsively paced and ingeniously twisting. Gough has written a hyperactive, adrenaline-junkie dystopian thriller that deserves to be made into a belter of a film franchise. * The Times *
This stimulating tale of a coder and his mum is a hyper-digital thriller . . . a story of family dysfunction plugged into larger questions about reality, evolution and the west's self-definition as "the good guys". * Observer *
An exciting literary thriller with plenty of interesting ideas. * Mail on Sunday *
Read Connect by the absurdly brilliant Julian Gough, a mind-expanding technothriller with a hotly beating human heart. -- Emma Donoghue
Connect really is a work of genius. It confronts and explores the nature of humanness and existence in a thrilling, immersive, addictive way, and marks Julian out as a prophet among writers. -- Donal Ryan
A wonderful novel, a tour de force. -- Joseph O'Connor
This is a novel of enormous danger and risk . . . It is in the lightness of the writing, the compelling force of the narrative that the author achieves real brilliance. Gough has undoubtedly arrived, as a master storyteller. -- Michael Harding
Connect has all the hallmarks of such futuristic classics as War Of The Worlds and Brave New World, but it is also a strong stand alone novel full of excitement, twists, and turns, and stands shoulder to shoulder with any thriller being published today. * Galway Advertiser *
A mind-warping futuristic thriller wrapped in a smorgasbord of ideas . . . inventive and entertaining . . . Connect might just be the perfect combination of beach read and literary torchpaper. * Sunday Business Post (Ireland) *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top