We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Crier's War (Crier's War)
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Nina Varela is a nationally awarded writer of screenplays and short fiction. She was born in New Orleans and raised on a hippie commune in Durham, North Carolina, where she spent most of her childhood playing in the Eno River, building faerie houses from moss and bark, and running barefoot through the woods. These days, Nina lives in Los Angeles with her writing partner and their tiny ill-behaved dog. She tends to write stories about young people toppling the monarchy/patriarchy/whatever-archy. On a related note, she's queer. On a less related note, she has strong feelings about hush puppies and loves a good jambalaya. Crier's War is her first novel. You can find Nina at any given coffee shop in the greater Los Angeles area or at www.ninavarela.com.

Reviews

"Crier's War is a beautiful poem of a book. Fans of both fantasy and sci-fi: this book is for you." -- Tara Sim, Author of the Timekeeper Trilogy
"Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance. The plot zooms ahead with nail-biting tension. A fresh, suspenseful take on the robot apocalypse." -- Kirkus Reviews
"Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue, Varela's debut novel is perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense world building." -- Booklist
"A lush #OwnVoices fantasy debut with science fiction elements and LGBTQIA+ representation, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass." -- School Library Journal
"Masterful storytelling, woven with gorgeous poetic prose. You can't help but be lured into this vividly imagined world. As heart-wrenching as it is unforgettable." -- Erin Summerill, author of the Clash of Kingdoms trilogy
"Captivating political machinations among intricately linked characters create a suspenseful read with particular appeal to fans of queer romance." -- Publishers Weekly
"This interesting mesh of sci-fi and fantasy situates androids within court intrigue, enhanced with a steamy, well-paced lesbian romance that will make readers impatient to nab the next novel." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top