We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Csound: A Sound and Music Computing System


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Music Programming Languages.- An Introduction to the Csound System.- Key Concepts, Abstractions: Instruments, Events.- Variables, Signals, Opcodes.- Advanced Data Types: Strings and Arrays.- Control of Flow and Scheduling.- Creating Signal Graphs and Busses.- User-Defined Opcodes.- The Numeric Score.- MIDI Input and Output.- Open Sound Control and Networking.- Scripting Control I: Python.- Scripting Control II: Clojure.- Classic Synthesis.- Time-Domain Processing.- Spectral Processing.- Granular Techniques.- Physical Models.- Composition Case Studies.

Promotional Information

"Today, Csound is in my opinion the most powerful and general program for sound synthesis and processing. Moreover, it is likely to endure, since it is maintained and developed by a team of competent and dedicated persons. The authors of this book are part of this team: they are talented software experts but also composers or sound designers. The book reviews the programs which culminated in the present Csound, and it explains in full detail the recent features. It can thus serve as both an introduction to Csound and a handbook for all its classic and novel resources." (Jean-Claude Risset, CNRS Marseille)

About the Author

Victor Lazzarini is the Dean of the Dept. of Arts, Celtic Studies and Philosophy of the National University of Ireland, Maynooth. John Peter Fitch, who also uses the name John ffitch, has retired from the Dept. of Computer Science of the University of Bath, he is a visiting professor at the National University of Ireland, Maynooth. Steven Yi completed his PhD in the Dept. of Music of the National University of Ireland, Maynooth, and he is now a software developer. Joachim Heintz is a member of the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media (HMTM). Iain McCurdy is a composer of electroacoustic music and sound art, currently based in Berlin. Oyvind Brandtsegg is a member of the Dept. of Music of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top