We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

In the Dark of the Night


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

In the Dark of the Night is John Saul's thirty-third novel. His first novel, Suffer the Children, published in 1977, was an immediate million-copy bestseller. His other bestselling suspense novels include Perfect Nightmare, Black Creek Crossing, Midnight Voices, The Manhattan Hunt Club, Nightshade, The Right Hand of Evil, The Presence, Black Lightning, The Homing, and Guardian. He is also the author of the New York Times bestselling serial thriller The Blackstone Chronicles, initially published in six installments but now available in one complete volume. Saul divides his time between Seattle, Washington, and Hawaii. Join John Saul's fan club at www.johnsaul.com.

From the Hardcover edition.


At the start of this unoriginal but undeniably creepy horror chiller from bestseller Saul (Perfect Nightmare), Eric Brewster and two high school pals, Kent Newell and Tad Sparks, are looking forward to a summer vacation with their families in picturesque Phantom Lake, Wis. The Brewsters have rented Pinecrest, an age-blackened old house once the home of Dr. Hector Darby, who disappeared under mysterious circumstances seven years before. Eric's mother, Merrill, has a bad feeling about the house, as well she should, but the rest of the family is insistent, so she goes along with the plan. Once at Pinecrest, Eric and friends discover a secret room in the carriage house, a room filled with deadly surgical instruments, medical files, books and artifacts relating to Dr. Darby's research into the minds of serial killers. The boys begin to hear strange voices and experience terrifying dreams. Or are the dreams real? It's more YA novel than adult, but Saul has been in the business long enough to know how to send shivers up the spines of readers of any age. (Aug.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Gr 9 Up-What begins as a lazy, restful summer vacation in the Great Lakes for the Brewster family turns to horror at their rented mansion, Pinecrest, in this novel (Ballantine, 2006) by best-selling author John Saul. On the grounds of Pinecrest, Eric Brewster and his high school friends discover a time-delayed shed full of meticulously catalogued items. As the boys piece together the mystery, they confront a horrifying chain of murder and mayhem that electrified the sleepy resort town seven years previously. Will the Brewster family escape Pinecrest's grisly legacy alive? Saul weaves a page-turner of a story that horror fans will enjoy from start to finish. Narrator Mel Foster reads the novel with gusto and panache, providing remarkable and memorable voices for each character. Unique sound effects add to the enjoyment. Despite some sexual and vulgar language, this audiobook will be a wonderful addition to young adult horror/thriller collections.-Larry Cooperman, Seminole High School, Sanford, FL Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Whiling away the summer with their family at an idyllic Phantom Lake cabin, the teenaged Brewster boys discover a strange room whose contents suggest that the cabin's former inhabitant was a murderer. Soon the strange room is making them do strange things-maybe even commit murder themselves. With a five-city tour. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top