We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Darkness Descending


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Map: Crawl Out From the Mountains. Introduction: Avalanche. PART ONE: From the Smoke to the Snow; Wilderness of White; Climbing Free; First Night in the Open; Escape from the Mountain; Second Night in the Open; Between the Woods and the Water; Third Night in the Open; The Longest Day; Out from the Wild. PART TWO: Refuge; The Ordeal Begins; Hard Time; Back Home; All Things Must Pass; Post Op. Epilogue. Glossary. Acknowledgements.

About the Author

Ken Jones is from Shropshire. He is a former soldier who served with the Parachute Regiment and various elements of UK Special Forces. Ken is the founder of Avalanche Endurance Events and Race Director of The Fan Dance Race Series Special Forces challenge. He is also a motivational speaker, an avid outdoorsman, mountaineer, competitive road cycle racer and keen chess player. Ken lives between Lucca, Italy, San Diego California and the Elan Valley, Wales.


'Gripping' Daily Telegraph. * Daily Telegraph *
'Battered by two avalanches, lost and suffering injuries that should have killed him, it became the defining challenge of his life. Ten years on, still haunted by the experience, he has written a gripping new book about his terrifying fight for survival' Mail on Sunday. * Mail on Sunday *
'Riveting. Knife-edge suspenseful. Uplifting beyond measure. Takes the spirit of Special Forces soldiering to new levels - showing how those who dare can survive the seemingly unsurvivable in one of the toughest environments on earth' Damien Lewis. * Damien Lewis *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top