We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Edmund Burke


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

1: Growing Up Irish, 1730-1744
2: From a Boy to a Man, 1744-1750
3: Getting Started, 1750-1757
4: A Philosophical Enquiry, 1757
5: Maps of Mankind, 1756-1758
6: Journalist and Jackal, 1759-1765
7: Gleams of Prosperity, 1765-1768
8: Present Discontents, 1768-1770
9: Squalls and Stagnation, 1770-1773
10: America and Bristol, 1774-1776
11: Waiting on Events, 1776-1779
12: Shears or Hatchets, 1779-1781
13: Paradise Lost, 1781-1784


Professor Lock gives us the first volume of what promises to be an important biography. Derek Jarrett, LRB 17/2/00 meticulous and massive biography ... Helped by the bedrock of collected scholarly editions of Burke's letters, writings and speeches, he can raise this splendid monument. Refreshingly free of jargon and interpretative whimsies - he nods ritually to "otherness and alienation" only once - this is a study which will endure. Toby Barnard, Times Literary Supplement

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top