We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Embassy of the Dead
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Will Mabbitt writes. He writes in libraries, in cafes, on the toilet, and sometimes, when his laptop runs out of power, he writes in his head. Before he got paid to do this, he worked in London and spent a lot of time stuck on the train-which is where he wrote his first book,The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones. Will Mabbitt lives with his family somewhere on the south coast of England.

Reviews

This series opener is delightfully spooky, complemented by scratchy black-and-white illustrations...A creepy romp.
-Kirkus Reviews

The story is earnest, spooky, and cheerfully bleak. Those with a taste for dark tales will certainly enjoy following Jake on his gothic adventure.
-The Horn Book

Knight's interspersed illustrations provide flavor and occasional spooks (her illustration of the terrifying bonewulf is particularly chilling), but her red-nosed, round-cheeked characters add whimsy and a fairy-tale flair that keep this macabre tale from creeping into too-scary territory. Perfect for fans of The Graveyard Book (BCCB 10/08) looking for slightly sillier fare, this is sure to be a Halloween hit, with ghouls and boys eagerly awaiting the rest of the promised series.
-Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

While clearly replete with ghouls and ghasts of all stripes, this British import is creepy but never too scary, and packed with laughs. Occasional excerpts from ghostly guide The Book of the Dead catalog different types of spirits, and enticingly expand the world of this series-starter for curious readers. Recommend for readers looking for a quick-paced, just-spooky-enough romp.
-School Library Journal

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top