Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

From The Shadows
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For fans of John Grisham and Tim Weaver, bestselling author Neil White's From the Shadows introduces Dan Grant, a lawyer who seeks the truth - whatever the cost.

About the Author

Neil White was born and brought up around West Yorkshire. He left school at sixteen but returned to education in his twenties, when he studied for a law degree. He started writing in 1994, and is now a criminal lawyer by day, crime fiction writer by night. He lives in the north of England with his wife and three children.

Reviews

A lively, accurate and absolutely compelling legal thriller; stand-out in both its prose and its plot. The characters are still with me, two days after finishing it. I couldn't put it down * Gillian McAllister, The Sunday Times bestselling author of EVERYTHING BUT THE TRUTH *
Easily a one sitting read, the plot is dynamic and multi-layered, the relationship between Dan and Jayne is edgy and fascinating and the mystery elements are cleverly woven and definitely twisted . . . ever compelling and truly absorbing . . . With an ending that will have you holding your breath and a twisted, often surprising path to get you there From The Shadows is utterly gripping and highly inventive - top notch crime fiction at its appealing, page turning, captivating best. Loved it. * Liz Loves Books *
White's experience as a criminal lawyer shines through in his character development . . . very interesting and complex . . . it kept my attention with intriguing action and a thrilling ending. This was such a fast paced novel I was glued to the pages . . . White's writing reminded me a bit of John Grisham's early days when he used to write those really good legal thrillers that were heavy on needing good characters to pull the story along. So if that's your thing you really need to check this book out. * Artistic Bent *
By the time I had finished I realised that I actually wanted to read more and was pleased that White decided to do a new series and one which I think will prove extremely popular. * Best Crime Books and More *
Neil White is a very talented author, his books are very well written and the plots are excellently paced. This one is no different and I enjoyed it from start to finish, strong characters, great plot and an excellent climax. I can't wait for the next one in the series * Worcester Sauce *
This book is a mix of legal drama and murder investigation; both of which made for compelling reading. Dan and Jayne are good characters, likeable and easy to understand. A very good book, well written and keeps moving along nicely until the end when it shocks and stuns * Breakaway Reviewers *
This book is fast-paced and easily read in one sitting. The writing is professional and the flow is excellent. Readers of suspense and thrillers will be drawn to this book. From the Shadows is recommended and will entertain as well as surprise * The Cozy Review *
Based in Manchester this legal thriller is the start of a new series from the criminal lawyer turned writer. One of his earlier offerings, Next to Die, was a five-star rated thriller on our site . . . * Crime Fiction Lover *
I really was gripped. Well done, Neil White on the start of what promises to be a cracking legal crime series! * Northern Crime *
Plenty of legal tension and criminal drama for lovers of both styles * The Sunday Sport *
This book had me guessing till the very end, lots of brilliant characters and a superb plot * Echoes in an Empty Room *
From The Shadows mixes a gripping crime thriller with a compelling courtroom drama. The author was a criminal prosecutor and this insider knowledge gives a real authenticity to the courtroom and police station scenes...There's a delicious creeping sense of unease to From The Shadows, this is nail biting, check under the bed before going to sleep stuff that builds to a tense ending as the layers finally come together with inventive plotting and some satisfying twists and turns * Hair Past a Freckle *
From the Shadows does everything a crime novel should...sets the stage and then casts doubt on the motives of just about everyone on it, places everyone in jeopardy, throws in an extra body or two just to make sure you don't know who is going to survive this, and then ramps up the pace. Throw into that someone who knows how to evoke a place, without having to name every last street on the map, and has a neat turn of phrase and you've got pure entertainment. * The Bookbag *
Neil White has always delivered great characters, but with 'From the Shadows' he's excelled even his own high standards. The plot is suitably convoluted without ever being either straightforward or unnecessarily labyrinthine. Rather it is compelling, direct and enthralling.As a former lawyer, White continues to use words as his weapons and like all good lawyers, he has you right in the palm of his hand * Crime Squad *
A terrific thriller, FROM THE SHADOWS, is fast-paced and populated by extremely interesting characters embroiled in a clever story plot that twists, turns and sneaks around more than enough to keep the reader guessing until the end. * Aust Crime Fiction *
If you like crime fiction, murder mysteries or courtroom dramas, keep an eye out for it. * Izzy Reads *
The coppers in the book come over as real people, some good, some bad, some indifferent, much like most of the lawyers I've ever known. White's northern setting is equally authentic, taking me back to the north west where I grew up. I was wholly engrossed in White's story, determined - like Dan Grant - to uncover the truth. From the Shadows mixes past and present, combining both to present a complex, gripping web of lies, threats and murder. He presents a picture of the legal profession I knew all too well. It's not attractive and it's not meant to be, but it is realistic. * Crime Review *
Neil has a great reputation for writing legal crime-thrillers... [he] knows his stuff and it comes across well * Shortlist *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top