Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Action & Adventure » Lions, Tigers, Leopards, etc.

Giraffes Can't Dance

International No.1 Bestseller

By Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees (Illustrated by)

Elsewhere US$20.36 US$10.60   Save US$9.76 (48%)
Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from UK
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Rating:
 
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Paperback, 32 pages
Published In: United Kingdom, 01 June 2000
Number One bestseller Giraffes Can't Dance from author Giles Andreae has been delighting children for over 15 years. Gerald the tall giraffe would love to join in with the other animals at the Jungle Dance, but everyone knows that giraffes can't dance . . . or can they? A funny, touching and triumphant picture book story about a giraffe who finds his own tune and confidence too, with joyful illustrations from Guy Parker Rees and a foiled cover. ... wonderfully funny. - IndependentA fantastically funny and wonderfully colourful romp of a picture book. All toddlers should grow up reading this or hearing their parents read it aloud to them. - Daily TelegraphA joyful read about an outsider who finds acceptance on his own terms.... there's also a simple moral about tolerance and daring to be different. - Junior

About the Author

Giles Andreae (Author) Giles Andreae is the author of many top selling award-winning picture books. For Orchard, these include Rumble in the Jungle, Commotion in the Ocean, and I Love My Mummy. However, it is for the international bestseller Giraffes Can't Dance that he is best known. Giles is also the creator of Purple Ronnie, Britain's favourite stickman, and of the artist/philosopher, Edward Monkton. These two ranges of greetings cards, books and merchandise have made Giles the country's top selling living poet and an icon of contemporary popular culture. Giles lives with his wife, Victoria, a children's clothes designer, and their four young children by the river in Oxfordshire. Guy Parker-Rees (Illustrator) Guy Parker-Rees exuberant and energetic illustrations have made him a household name and one of today's bestselling children's illustrators. Notable successes include Giraffes Can't Dance - written by Giles Andreae, a worldwide besteller, and Richard & Judy children's book choice, Spookyrumpus, winner of the Sheffield, Dundee and Portsmouth book awards, and the highly acclaimed All Afloat on Noah's Boat. Guy lives in Brighton with his wife and three sons.

Reviews

A fantastically funny and wonderfully colourful romp of a picture book. All toddlers should grow up reading this or hearing their parents read it aloud to them. * Daily Telegraph * Witty match of rollicking rhyme and bold colour. * Guardian * This delightful picture book is written in lively rhyming text with vivacious illustrations. * Junior * a joyful read about an outsider who finds acceptance on his own terms.... there's also a simple moral about tolerance and daring to be different. * Junior * A rhyming story with superb illustrations... wonderfully funny. * Independent * This rhyming story will delight young children and get them popping along with the rhythm * Evening Standard * Giraffes Can't Dance ... has been a bestseller for more than 15 years - and for good reason ... There's a very powerful message in there about daring to be different, and accepting others too * Irish Daily Mail * This is a lovely story that incorporates several dance forms including waltz, tango, Scottish reel amd rock n roll. I have also used the story to introduce infant classes to Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata and had them playing along with it * SAME Magazine * Lovely * Lytham St Annes Express * A lovely rhyming picture book about understanding differences * motherandbaby.co.uk * A fantastically funny and wonderfully colourful romp * The Daily Telegraph * Managed to capture the hearts of countless children. A modern classic. * Baby & Me * This rhyming poem is excellent. * The Bookseller * Extraordinary and exuberant...a terrific tale and a positive message about celebrating difference. * Bournemouth Echo * Superb...a wonderfully funny book. * The Independent * A gloriously colourful and lively book with a strong message. * Sunderland Echo * Brilliant use of colour, a continual sense of movement and high good humour all help to make this picture book richly enjoyable. * Carousel * A can-do story with lively pictures and an immensely pleasing text. * Times Educational Supplement * A hit with young children since it was first published 10 years ago * Daily Express * A wonderful, light-hearted story. * Bournemouth Daily Echo * An inspiration. * Church Times *

EAN: 9781841215655
ISBN: 1841215651
Publisher: Orchard Books
Dimensions: 29.4 x 22.6 x 0.5 centimeters (0.20 kg)
Age Range: 2-4 years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

14 review(s)
All Reviews
14
9
4
1
Melinda on
+2
A very bright and upbeat book, both in story and illustrations. There are lots of wonderful and beautifully illustrated African animals to look at, accompanied by an engaging story in rhyme. It encourages children to dance to the beat of their own drum!
Loren on
+2
This is one of my children's favorite books, they can empathise with the moral behind it. I have been reading it to them since they were 2. They are now 3 & 4 and still love hearing it regularly. a great investment!
Marion on
+1
Gerald the giraffe doesn't really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. "Hey, look at clumsy Gerald," they sneer. "Oh, Gerald, you're so weird." Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock 'n' roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different "just need a different song," and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald's fickle "friends" quickly decide he's worthy of their attention again.
With this rhyming, poignant (in a cartoonish way) tale, Giles Andreae, author of Rumble in the Jungle, and numerous other picture books, shows insecure young readers that everyone can be wonderful, even those that march to the beat of a different cricket. The rhymes are somewhat awkward, but the bold, bright watercolors by Guy Parker-Rees will invite readers to kick up their heels and find their own internal harmony. (Ages 3 to 6) --Emilie Coulter
JO on
 
I just love this book. I've worked in the early childhood education area for approximately 12 years & I still enjoy reading it to any age group. You can discuss many topics with the children about this book, colours, movement, sounds, feelings etc. it's always a popular one as the children listen to it with interest.
Nicole on
 
The book would be perfect for kids around 3 or 4 years old, as it is a little wordy. The moral of the story is good and the illustrations are lovely.
Ella on
 
Great bright book, i love the meaning and the pictures teaching its ok to be different
Nikki on
 
Beautiful book. Lots of animals to look at and talk about and the story is simple but gently reinforces the value of being an individual and following your heart.
Marianne on
 
This book is a favourite of the children in my preschool cloass, and one of many they make me read over & over. Gerard thinks he can't dance & feels embarrassed in front of the rest of the animals in the jungle. Hes soon given some wonderful advice from a very wise cricket & learns he can in fact dance afterall. His friends are amazed & enjoy watching him.

This book helps teach children that being okay is different & that they can have cinfidence in themselves whether they are the same or different to their friends.
Rachel on
 
This book is great. Lovely rhyming words and bright colourful illustrations. My son and I love reading this book
Donna on
 
My kids love, love, love these books. Bright colours, catchy poems. Great series of books.

Review this Product

BAD GOOD
 

Related Searches

 

This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.