We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Axie Oh is a first-generation Korean American, born in New York City and raised in New Jersey. She studied Korean history and creative writing as an undergrad at the University of California San Diego and holds an MFA in Writing for Young People from Lesley University. Her passions include K-pop, anime, stationery supplies, and milk tea, and she currently resides in Las Vegas, Nevada, with her dog, Toro (named after Totoro). She is the author of multiple books for teens, including The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea.

Reviews

A clever, creative, and exquisitely written tale of sacrifice, love, and fate * Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval and Once Upon a Broken Heart *
A sumptuous fairytale world to dive into full of whimsy and heart. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli! * Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire *
A tale brimming with love. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will whisk you away on an entrancing journey through the most magical realm. Axie Oh's characters own my whole heart * Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights *
With its captivating world-building, fast-paced story and cast of memorable characters, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will charm, delight and surprise readers * Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the Warrior Bards series *
A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling I wish I'd had when I was growing up . . . A heartfelt tale that I will be recommending for years to come * Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes *
A true jewel of a story that shines in the world of fantasy . . . This beautifully woven tale brimming with heart, spirit, and love is a dream you'll never want to end * Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend *
Shim Cheong is Korea's most famous legend and one I've heard all my life, but as a feminist it has always been my least favorite. Axie's book retells the fairy tale and empowers the girl protagonist while still preserving the beloved classic tale, set in a fantastical world so unique and fascinating. I absolutely loved every word! * Ellen Oh, author of Prophecy and co-founder of We Need Diverse Books *
Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a beautifully written fantasy inspired by Spirited Away and steeped in Korean mythology. Lyrical prose, incredible world building, and a heroine worth rooting for - this story is everything and then some. A stunning feat of storytelling and an un-put-downable read. I wish I could read it again for the first time. Absolutely exquisite! * Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella is Dead and This Poison Heart *
Get ready to be swept into a world of gods, spirits, surprising twists, and mingled destinies. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a breathtaking cinematic fairy tale with a courageous heroine at its heart * Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author of A Thousand Steps into Night *
Nicely paced and beautifully written, this engrossing fantasy is packed with memorable characters, starting with the headstrong Mina, and including the mysterious Shin, with whom she becomes inexplicably tied . . . A perfect for fit readers who love Spirited Away * Booklist *
[A] majestic magical marvel of a book * Buzzfeed *
A luscious and beautiful experience * Bookish Brews *
Oh weaves an intricate and engaging tale . . . Captivated readers will long to be pulled deeper into the story. A fantastical world to get lost in * Kirkus *
'A wondrous, richly imagined tale of love, family, and sacrifice. Axie Oh's lyrical prose sweeps you into an extraordinary world of myth and legend, where gods of lore live and breathe, and one girl's determination to change her fate will capture your heart. Fans of Studio Ghibli will adore this magical story! * June CL Tan, author of Jade Fire Gold *
This YA fantasy is an enthralling mix of magic, romance, and high stakes, with lovely worldbuilding at its centre * BuzzFeed News SFF round-up *
The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea captivated me with its depiction of a spirit realm rooted in Korean myth and moved me with the power of love and family in its story. A beautiful new favorite of mine! * Xiran Jay Zhao, New York Times bestselling author of Iron Widow *
A world deep down under the sea, a motley crew of demons and spirits, and a young girl willing to do anything to save her brother - a recipe for a great new fantasy * Mr B's Bookseller's Dozen *
A magical odyssey of gods, mythical beasts and enchanted spirits * Lifestyle Northeast *
Majestic, magical marvel of a book * BuzzFeed *
A soulful story with big-hearted characters and a truly whimsical setting, The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea offers readers a dose of pure fantasy escapism. Something we need now more than ever * Culturefly *
At all times it's fanciful and vibrant, a love letter to the mythology of Oh's childhood... It's beautifully written, its poetry-tinged prose elevating it above other similarly themed YA novels * SFX *
Swept me away to another world - an enchanting and lyrical tale, perfect for fans of Midnight in Everwood * Armadillo Magazine *
Spellbinding * The New York Times *
A lush, compassionate reimagining * Tor.com *
A beautiful, poetic, heartfelt, and mesmerising retelling * The Nerd Daily *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books
Back to top