We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Gone 'Til November
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

WALLACE STROBY is an award-winning journalist and a former editor at the Newark Star-Ledger. Gone 'til November is his third novel, following the acclaimed The Heartbreak Lounge and the Barry Award--finalist The Barbed-Wire Kiss. He lives in New Jersey.

Reviews

"A tightly written crime novel peopled with believable, memorable characters who face real-life dangers... Stroby tells his tale swiftly and the action scenes move with cinematic brio." --The Star-Ledger (New Jersey)"[This novel] puts author Wallace Stroby in the company of noir masters like Dashiell Hammett and Elmore Leonard." --The Huffington Post"In Gone `til November, Wallace Stroby's mastery of character and dialogue is mated to a hellacious narrative engine. His heroine, Sara Cross, is a wonderful creation." --George Pelecanos"A strong cast and energetic storytelling. But it's Sara, so human and so beset, who makes this another standout for Stroby." --Kirkus Review (starred review)"Stroby begins his gritty new series with a bang. Sure to appeal to fans of Edna Buchanan and John Sandford." --Library Journal"Gone 'til November is rock-solid crime fiction that melds compelling characters, crisp writing, and a finely rendered portrait of Old Florida, the state's thinly populated, less-storied interior. Sara and Morgan, an aging career criminal who has just been diagnosed with cancer, are Stroby's best creations. Morgan is ruthless and resourceful, but he also has a quiet dignity and a streak of humanity that may have readers picturing actor Morgan Freeman." --Booklist"For those who favor a lean, tautly written police procedural--with an accent on firearms and plenty of them-- then Wallace Stroby's third novel will come as something in which to revel.... It's the action back on the streets of Newark, in the alleys between the boarded-up brownstones, that really grabs the reader's attention." --Yahoo Shine"Swiftly told but suspenseful, filled with moral choices and a bit of welcome ambiguousness at its end, Gone 'til November [has] a hell of a kick." --January Magazine"Stroby has not lost one iota of the magic that made his first two books instant classics ... He truly gets it right." --Bookreporter.com"Just when you think that you can't be surprised anymore, a writer like Wallace Stroby ups the ante, finds a way to use familiar elements in new and surprising ways. This is a first-rate novel, with characters who live on in the reader's mind long after the book is finished. I always expect great things from Stroby, and Gone Till November is a significant addition to an already impressive body of work." --Laura Lippman, author of What the Dead Know"In these days of mega formulaic blockbusters, it seems almost impossible to find a novel that not only has depth of characterization, but a compelling plot. Gone Till November achieves both and seamlessly.... This novel sings, darkly and irresistibly." --Ken Bruen, author of London Boulevard"Stroby begins his gritty new series with a bang. Sure to appeal to fans of Edna Buchanan and John Sandford." --Library Journal on The Heartbreak Lounge"A cat-and-mouse story that inspires just the tiniest bit of sympathy for the predator... Readers will have a hard time putting down this three-ring circus of a book." --The Star-Ledger (New Jersey) on The Heartbreak Lounge"A scorching first novel that mixes the melancholic heart of tough-guy fiction with a fierce and violent gangster plot." --The Washington Post Book World on The Barbed-Wire Kiss"Stroby does wonders with his blue-collar characters." --The New York Times Book Review on The Barbed-Wire Kiss

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top