Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!


Groupies
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Sarah Priscus is a Canadian writer. A graduate of the University of Ottawa, her short stories and poetry have been published online in journals including Barren Magazine, New South Journal, Ellipsis Zine, and Milk Candy Review. Her story "[saxophone solo]" appeared in Bone & Ink Press's 2019 anthology Shut Down Strangers and Hot Rod Angels. She received a Best of the Net nomination for a story published in Atlas & Alice, and a Pushcart Prize nomination.

Groupies is her debut novel.

Reviews

"Priscus' audacious debut totally rocks--and rolls--in a dazzling story of groupies, and the young woman who is as obsessed with them as she is with grabbing her own star... A devastatingly on-target story about the cost of fame, desire, and drugs... The novel itself is nothing short of superstar." -- Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of With or Without You"This dark, absorbing coming-of-age tale, set in the folk-rock scene of the 1970s, captivated me from the very first sentence. With deep intelligence and massive heart, Sarah Priscus captures both the allure of fame and its dangers. I loved her thorny heroine, Faun, and I loved this novel." -- Joanna Rakoff, international bestselling author of My Salinger Year and A Fortunate Age"What a thrill it is to read Sarah Priscus' 70s rock, California-dreaming Groupies. This shimmering debut is packed with tenderness and awe against a backdrop of drugs, sex, rock stars, and high drama. Faun is a lovable, believable, and wonderfully drawn character who will remain in my heart and mind for a very, very long time." -- Jessica Anya Blau, author of Mary Jane"A luscious glimpse into the '70s LA music scene--in all its exhilarating, destructive glory. A love letter to a lost time and a lost innocence, Sarah Priscus' dark, glittering debut is irresistible." -- Robin Wasserman, author of Mother Daughter Widow Wife and Girls on Fire"The rockstar '70s as seen through the eyes of the wild and reckless girls eager to live in the shadow of fame--and the trouble that comes when they try to claim a place in the spotlight for themselves. Gripping, vivid, and perceptive, Groupies swept me into a darkly glittering world I didn't want to leave." -- Natalie Standiford, author of Astrid Sees All"I devoured Groupies--a gritty, glamorous novel that shines a spotlight on the iconic women behind the male rock legend and asks the question, 'what happens to girls who love too much?'" -- Emma Brodie, author of Songs in Ursa Major"Sarah Priscus writes like a dream and her candid, fantastic debut had me hooked. An incredibly vivid, evocative portrayal of a young woman drawn into a situation bigger than herself, this book enthralled me from the first sentence to the last. World, watch out for Sarah Priscus! She's gonna be a star." -- Elissa R. Sloan, author of The Unraveling of Cassidy Holmes"Daisy Jones and The Six fans will fall in love with Sarah Priscus's debut Groupies." -- Popsugar"Cinematic and glamorous, Priscus's debut follows Faun's descent into what seemed a fairy tale, but turns out to be its opposite. And the groupies! No, they weren't just sex-crazed bimbos. They got a bad rap!" -- Oprah Daily"[A] biting and mesmerizing look into fame, media, and friendship." -- Buzzfeed"Okay, this is 'historical' if you count the '70s as historical, and yes, we do. If you liked Taylor Jenkins Reid's Daisy Jones & The Six, this book is for you." -- Cosmopolitan"Reckless choices and drug-fueled decisions abound in this coming-of-age tale which captures how easy it is to spiral out of control when you love something that doesn't love you back." -- Vulture"If you want a more fictional groupie story, look no further than Sarah Priscus's Groupies, about, well, groupies. Following Faun, a college dropout, she gets sucked into the drug-fueled world of rock bands." -- Town & Country"An epic tale of love, friendship, betrayal, and the long slide from sixties ideals into seventies addictions." -- CrimeReads"A great debut novel from author Sarah Priscus, who looks at this lifestyle of the time period in very vivid detail. You're hooked right from the beginning and don't want to put it down. If you're a fan of sex, drugs and rock music, this is perfect for you." -- Red Carpet Crash"This 1970s rock novel is one hell of a ride. It's fun on every page even when it's exploring the pitfalls of coming-of-age, stardom, and obsession. Priscus absolutely slays this novel which is sure to be a runaway hit." -- Debutiful"Find drama, sex, drugs, and rock and roll in this glittery coming-of-age debut, perfect for fans of Daisy Jones & The Six and The Final Revival of Opal & Nev." -- Apartment Therapy"Through a succession of vivid scenery and authentically groovy characters, Priscus plants her finger on the fluttering pulse of the 1970s rock scene. This spirited dive into the past will delight rock fans young and old." -- Publishers Weekly"The story is peppered with so many details about debauched parties and blaring music that readers can almost see the Polaroids that Faun compulsively snaps. And although it's quite effective as a time capsule of the 1970s rock scene, it's also an exploration of obsession and a compassionate look at the women and girls many people would easily dismiss. This would be a perfect choice for fans of Daisy Jones & the Six. A gritty, glamorous novel full of sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll." -- Kirkus Reviews

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.

Back to top
We use essential and some optional cookies to provide you the best shopping experience. Visit our cookies policy page for more information.