We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Gyoergy Ligeti


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Contents: Biographical Sketch - Questions of Identity - Towards an Intellectual Physiognomy - A "non-Puristic" Music - Metaphors, Allusions and Synasthesias - Time and Space - New Sound Images - Popularity - Going beyond Serialism - Apparitions - Atmospheres - Requiem - Lux aeterna - Continuum - Le Grand Macabre - The Turning-point 1980 - Epater l'Avant-garde - The Piano Etudes - The Concerti for Piano, Violin and Horn - Afterword.

About the Author

Constantin Floros is professor emeritus of Musicology at the University of Hamburg. Among his works are volumes on the origin of Gregorian neumes, about Gustav Mahler, Anton Bruckner, Johannes Brahms, Ludwig van Beethoven and Alban Berg.
Ernest Bernhardt-Kabisch is professor emeritus of English and Comparative Literature at Indiana University. He has translated several books by Constantin Floros.


"This study excels all previous monographs on the subject of Ligeti in factual thoroughness and breadth of aesthetic horizon, in fineness of intellectual portraiture and authority of musical analysis." (Lutz Lesle)
"The most exciting, comprehensible, analytically profound and conceptually lucid study to date, which, in addition, for the first time incorporates the sketches in the discussion and thereby elucidates the basic ideas underlying many of the works." (Fonoforum)

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top