Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

A History of the English-Speaking Peoples


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Preface Maps and Genealogical Tables Book I: The Island Race 1. Britannia 2. Subjugation 3. The Roman Province 4. The Lost Island 5. England 6. The Vikings 7. Alfred the Great 8. The Saxon Dusk Book II: The Making of the Nation 1. The Norman Invasion 2. William the Conqueror 3. Growth and Turmoil 4. Henry Plantagenet 5. The English Common Law 6. Coeur de Lion 7. Magna Carta 8. On the Anvil 9. The Mother of Parliaments 10. King Edward I 11. Bannockburn 12. Scotland and Ireland 13. The Long-Bow 14. The Black Death Book III: The End of the Feudal Age 1. King Richard II and the Social Revolt 2. The Usurpation of Henry Bolingbroke 3. The Empire of Henry V 4. Joan of Arc 5. York and Lancaster 6. The Wars of the Roses 7. The Adventures of Edward IV 8. Richard III Index

Promotional Information

In the first volume of his majestic history of the English-speaking peoples, Sir Winston S. Churchill chronicles the birth of Britain from the earliest inhabitants of the British Isles to the Battle of Bosworth.

About the Author

Sir Winston S. Churchill (1874-1965) was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom on two occasions, from 1940-1945 and again from 1951 to 1955. Celebrated as one of the greatest leaders of the 20th century, he was also a gifted orator, statesman and historian. The author of more than 40 books, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1953 and in 1963 was made an honorary citizen of the United States.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » History » General
Home » Books » History » Europe » Great Britain » General
Home » Books » History » Modern » 18th Century
Home » Books » History » Medieval
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top