We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

How To Give Your Cat A Bath
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

In this hilarious and clever "how-to," a little girl and a know-it-all narrator are thwarted by a cat who refuses to take a bath. The perfect read-aloud for fans of Snappsy the Alligator and Interrupting Chicken.

About the Author

NICOLA WINSTANLEY has always believed in the power of stories to bring comfort. She is the author of The Pirate's Bed, A Bedtime Yarn and Cinnamon Baby, which won an honor prize for the Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award and was shortlisted for the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award. Nicola lives in Hamilton, Ontario, with her family and one dog. No cats.

Reviews

Featured in School Library Journal's top 2019 'Funny Picture Books' list
One of CCBC's Best Books for Kids & Teens 2019
One of the Ontario Library Association's 2019 Top Ten Titles PRAISE FOR How to Give Your Cat a Bath in Five Easy Steps
"This laugh-out-loud picture book can serve as a beginning reader. . . . The inevitable ending will delight both children and adults and this title will be requested over and over." --Starred Review, Booklist "Early-years students will love the humour and irony of the situation. Highly recommended." --Highly Recommended, Resource Links "As the chaos unfolds, viewers will be delighted to track the cat through the chase scenes. . . . There's a wry humor in the unseen narrator's directives, and the text makes a particularly amusing counterpart to the little girl's visibly increasing frustration with the whole endeavor." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "[A] pleasing and well-executed story that really is the cat's meow. An excellent choice for independent reading and sharing in small groups." --School Library Journal "Everyone will appreciate this delightful book." --Imaginary Elevators "Martz's expressive art lays out the runaway circumstances through vignettelike passages and dialogue balloons, capturing the experience of well-laid plans quickly unraveling into disaster." --Publishers Weekly

"Adorably frustrating . . . will have young readers slapping their foreheads in exasperation, but will reward them with a sweet, funny ending . . . Martz's colourful line drawings match the happy, manic energy." --New York Times

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Poetry » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top