We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Killing Moon
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

* Review copies mailed to the genre, national and blogging press * Featured on www.orbitbooks.net and in the Orbit ezine * Author website at www.nkjemisin.com

About the Author

N.K Jemisin is a career counselor, political blogger and would-be gourmand living in New York City. She's been writing since the age of 10, although her early works will never see the light of day.

Reviews

Jemisin's gripping series launch immerses readers in an unfamiliar but enthralling world as well as a rousing political and supernatural adventure. - PUBLISHERS WEEKLYLush, sensual and enjoyably convoluted - SUNDAY TELEGRAPHRichly imagined and executed with panache - SUNDAY TIMESJemisin's gripping series launch immerses readers in an unfamiliar but enthralling world as well as a rousing political and supernatural adventure. - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

The desert city of Gujaareh is known as a peaceful society, free of violence and crime. To maintain the peace, Gatherers-priests of the goddess Hananja-police the city, siphoning the dreams of its residents and using them to heal, bring solace to the dying, and deliver death to the corrupt. When the city's most famous Gatherer, Ehiru, receives a commission to collect the dreams of a diplomat from a neighboring land, he and his apprentice Nijiri stumble into a web of political intrigue that could destroy their city and undermine its holy purpose. The author of the award-winning "Inheritance Trilogy" (The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms; The Broken Kingdoms; The Kingdom of Gods) launches a new series that explores the meaning of religion and the nature of faith. VERDICT This story, set in a world inspired by Africa and the Middle East, shines for its remarkable characters and graceful prose. Jemisin's fans and readers who enjoy China Mieville, Daniel Abraham, and Mike Resnick will embrace her attention to detail and the love of storytelling that infuses this novel. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Jemisin's gripping series launch immerses readers in an unfamiliar but enthralling world as well as a rousing political and supernatural adventure. In Gujaareh, a city-state reminiscent of ancient Egypt (though the differences far outnumber the similarities), dreams are the source of magic, and it is Gatherer Ehiru's job to collect the mystical life-giving dreamblood from the dying-and those deemed too "corrupt" to live. Devout and loyal, Ehiru is slow to accept that heretical evil lurks behind Gujaareh's unblemished facade; only after encountering Sunandi, a foreign spy who is far less naive about Gujaareh's "mad bitch" goddess and her unscrupulous worshippers, does Ehiru begin to glimpse the rot that extends up to the pinnacle of Gujaareh's social pyramid. As a hideous monster preys on the innocent, Ehiru's faith is tested in a crisis of world-shaking proportions. Rather than merely appropriating various details from Earth's past and present, Jemisin (the Inheritance Trilogy) has created a fully developed secondary world that is an organic whole. Agent: Lucienne Diver, the Knight Agency. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top