We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Knights of the Black and White Book One
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

/ Lead title The exciting first book in a brand new fictional trilogy about the most important events in the history of the Order of the Knights Templar. / Epic historical fiction on a grand scale, that will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwall and Conn Iggulden / The Crusades and the Knights Templar are increasingly popular areas of history, demonstrated the huge success of films such as 'Kingdom of Heaven' aswell as the popularity of 'Holy Blood, Holy Grail' and 'The Last Templar' / Major publicity campaign with nationwide review coverage guaranteed / Competition: Alexandre Dumas, Umberto Eco, Dororthy Dunnett, Sharon Penman and Bernard Cornwell

About the Author

Jack Whyte was born and raised in Scotland, and educated in England and France. He migrated to Canada from the UK, in 1967, as a teacher of High School English, but he only taught for a year before starting to work as a professional singer, musician, actor and entertainer. In the early 1970s, Whyte researched, wrote, directed and appeared in a one man show based on the life and times of Robert Burns, Scotland's national poet.
Whyte's interest in the history of Britain springs from his early Classical education in Scotland during the 1950s, and he has pursued his fascination with those times ever since. Whyte is married, with five adult children, and lives in British Columbia, Canada.

Reviews

Veteran of eight Arthurian novels (The Lance Thrower, etc.), Whyte turns to the Crusades with this tedious first volume of a Knights Templar trilogy. In 1088, young knight Hugh de Payens is initiated into the secret Order of the Rebirth of Sion, who believe the Christian Church to be "an invalid creation... built upon a myth." Founded by Jewish families fleeing the Romans, the Order believes that the truth about Jesus and the founding of Christianity lie buried beneath the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. When Pope Urban calls for a Holy Crusade to liberate Jerusalem from the Muslims, the Order-given to interminable monologues-sees an opportunity to perhaps retrieve those ancient documents and sends Sir Hugh and others to join the Crusaders, yakking the whole way. After the bloody fall of Jerusalem, Sir Hugh establishes a new order of warrior monks as a cover for the excavation of the Temple Mount, and the race is on to find the hidden treasure, if it exists, before their activities are discovered. This tepid Templar foray will be crowded out at the gates. (Aug.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top