We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Lost Apothecary
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Sarah Penner is the debut author of The Lost Apothecary, to be translated in eleven languages worldwide. She works full-time in finance and is a member of the Historical Novel Society and the Women's Fiction Writers Association. She and her husband live in St. Petersburg, Florida, with their miniature dachshund, Zoe. To learn more, visit slpenner.com.

Reviews

"The Lost Apothecary is a poisonously good read... An enthralling work of mystery, murder, trust, and betrayal. Set in an atmospheric London, Penner's immersive story flows skillfully from past to present, revealing the heartaches and lost dreams of three captivating main characters in a page-turningly tense drama that surprises right up until the final paragraph." --NPR

"You will not be able to put it down." --theSkimm "A juicy spring read." --Katie Couric, Wake-Up Call "An impressively original, deftly crafted and fully entertaining novel from cover to cover, The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner fairly crackles with compelling suspense, features truly memorable characters, and a series of cliffhanger style plot twists and turns." --Midwest Book Review "Engrossing, with rich detail, assured pacing and effective suspense." --Tampa Bay Times "Spellbinding... Like in a well-brewed potion, all the ingredients have been given exactly the right level of care and time, and the result is a novel that simply overwhelms with its delicate spell." --Bookpage "Enthralling... Musical prose... A completely absorbing story of the power of secrets and finding one's way." --Historical Novel Review, A Best Book of the Month Pick "In The Lost Apothecary, Sarah Penner convincingly weaves three heroines and two timelines into one tale of poison, revenge, and the silent network of women helping other women in a world stacked against them.... A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!" --Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network and The Huntress "Dark, clever, and wickedly fun, The Lost Apothecary is a true page-turner. Sarah Penner has given us a puzzle box of women's lives, betrayal, power, and history. It's a book that slyly asks what any of us deserve and if, sometimes, that might not be a little poison." --Erika Swyler, bestselling author of The Book of Speculation "Filled with fascinating historical detail... With gathering intensity, author Sarah Penner builds toward a heart-pounding, satisfying conclusion. A skilled, captivating debut that celebrates the strength of women across the centuries." --Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Names "Penner's debut had me completely under its spell. The women of The Lost Apothecary, separated by centuries, seek both revenge and truth in this powerful story. Riveting and utterly original." --Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Dollhouse "Sarah Penner kept me guessing until the last page of this addictive, atmospheric novel... Meticulously researched, The Lost Apothecary is both a cure for idleness and a recipe for intrigue. Prepare to be consumed by this carefully plotted, propulsive debut." --Amy Meyerson, bestselling author of The Bookshop of Yesterdays "An intoxicating debut, The Lost Apothecary is a riveting tale of poisons and potions and dark deeds in the name of survival." --Heather Webb, bestselling co-author of Meet Me in Monaco "Readers who enjoy Katherine Howe and Susanna Kearsley will be drawn to this promising, fast-paced debut." --Booklist "Intriguing... Readers who enjoy parallel historical/contemporary narratives about women's lives, such as Claire McMillan's The Necklace or Liz Trenow's The Forgotten Seamstress, will enjoy the historical details and mystery in this engrossing tale." --Library Journal

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top