We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Ma'am Darling
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

: The hilarious, bestselling royal biography, perfect for fans of The Crown

About the Author

Craig Brown has been writing the Private Eye celebrity diary since 1989. He has also written parodies for many other publications, including The Daily Telegraph, Vanity Fair, The Times and The Guardian. He is the author of several books, most recently 'The Lost Diaries' and 'One on One'.

Reviews

'Ma'am Darling is fascinating. Brown has done something amazing with Ma'am Darling: in my wilder moments, I wonder if he hasn't reinvented the biographical form' Observer

'A biography teeming with the joyous, the ghastly and the clinically fascinating' Hannah Bett, The Times

'Consistently hilarious and eye-opening' Tim Adams, Observer

'Heaven' India Knight, Sunday Times

'The only royal biography of the year worth handing the Queen's head over for, Ma'am Darling is a modern and unconventional portrait of an old-fashioned princess as distilled and pickled through the genius of Craig Brown' Helen Davies, Sunday Times

'Craig Brown has brilliantly drawn together the component parts of a complex woman' The Oldie

'A playful, impish approach...Brown gives us lots of wonderful incidental detail...The deftly amused writing constantly tugs the corners of your mouth upwards' Evening Standard

'A cross between biography and satire that perfectly displays Brown's rare skills as journalist and parodist', Mark Lawson, Guardian, Books of the Year

'Hugely entertaining ... brilliantly written, with a wonderful sardonic edge but also a thoughtful, at times even moving tone' Spectator

'If you want a book that will have you punching your pillow in helpless laughter, this is it. Moreover, he has invented an entirely new genre, of which it is a masterpiece ... The list of the Princess's 'rumoured' lovers - up to and wickedly including Dusty Springfield - sparked my decision to buy this book as a Christmas present for everybody I know, and for those I don't.' Country Life

'Hilarious' Sunday Telegraph

'Brilliant' Evening Standard

'Craig Brown achieves the impossible by finding a tone in which to write about monarchy. Not bitchy, not snide, not angry, but not fawning nor deferential either. Just funny.' David Hare, Guardian

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Humour » General
Home » Books » Biography » Royalty
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top