Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Meditations
By

Rating
Product Details

Promotional Information

The first new translation in 35 years Contains wisdom that has been tested over 2000 years - one of the greatest works of spiritual and ethical reflection ever written The favourite book of Frederick the Great, Pope, Goethe and President Clinton For fans of A.C. Grayling and Alain de Botton - people who want philosophy to be accessible and to help them in their lives 'The Meditations are an "unassailable wintry kingdom". But in the desert of 2003, their icy blasts are refreshing and restorative. They tell you the worst. And having heard the worst, you feel less bad' Blake Morrison, Guardian

Trailer

About the Author

Marcus Aurelius reigned from 161 AD to 180 AD- perhaps the only true philosopher- king in the history of the world. In his MEDITATIONS, a series of notes to himself, he formulated his pantheist Stoic beliefs with a passionate religious conviction. The MEDITATIONS were written day by day, in every situation including war. They often appear to be responses to the stress of supreme power, from the imminent fear of death in battle, to the trials of everyday life. Gregory Hays, the translator, is Assistant Professor of Classics at the University of Virginia. Gregory Hays is Assistant Professor of Classics at the University of Virginia. He has published articles and reviews on various ancient writers and is currently completing a translation and critical study of the mythographer Fulgentius.

Reviews

"An ancient work of spiritual reflection from the Roman emperor, which remains a powerful reminder of how we could live a more dignified life by avoiding deceit, vanity and greed." OK! MAGAZINE - HOT STARS SUPPLEMENT "Meditations is unaffected by time and offers plenty of wisdom." IRISH EXAMINER

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top