We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

A Meeting at Corvallis


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

S. M. Stirling is the New York Times bestselling author of many science fiction and fantasy novels, including the Novels of the Change (including Prince of Outcasts, The Desert and the Blade, The Golden Princess, The Given Sacrifice, Lord of Mountains) and the Shadowspawn series (A Taint in the Blood, The Council of Shadows, Shadows of Falling Night).


Stirling concludes his alternative history trilogy that began with Dies the Fire (2004) in high style. Some U.S. survivors of "the Change" that destroyed all modern technology just want to enjoy balanced, wholesome lives in tune with nature, such as former Marine Mike Havel's Bearkillers, who warily defend their territory in cooperation with peace-loving neighbors, especially Juniper MacKenzie's pagan clansfolk. Not far away, however, ex-history professor Norman Arminger is building a fascistic, neofeudal empire with himself as Lord Protector. The inevitable conflict builds, through layers of scheming and skirmishing, into full-scale war. Characters are cut from good quality cardboard, but the real interest lies in watching the different cultures exploring ways to solve problems. The story begins slowly, with detailed descriptions of scenery and armor. But readers will discover that the massive thing is moving after all and realize how much it resembles one of the cavalry charges the novel describes-gorgeous, stirring and gathering such earth-pounding momentum that it's difficult to resist. (Sept.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

A decade after the Change destroyed technology and sent human civilization reeling back into the Dark Ages, several independent realms have arisen. Corvallis maintains a university and prospers from its riverboat and horse-drawn railroad trade; Michael Havel and his Bearkillers preserve peace and order near what was Salem, OR; and the old religion's High Priestess, Juniper MacKenzie, governs the clan that bears her name. Only the medieval-style Lord Protector Norman Arminger, with his army of knights and his dreams of expanding his hold over the entire Pacific region, offers a challenge to the peaceful coexistence of multiple communities. Stirling's third volume in his alternate history trilogy (The Protector's War; Dies the Fire) provides a fascinating glimpse into a future transformed by the lack of easy solutions to both human and technological dilemmas. For libraries of all sizes. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

"A major work by an authentic master of alternate history." - Booklist (Starred Review)

"Grand and resonant." - Science Fiction Weekly

"[The story] resembles one of the cavalry charges the novel describes-gorgeous, stirring, and gathering such earth-pounding momentum that it's difficult to resist." - Publishers Weekly

"A rousing finale to a strong trilogy." - Alternate Worlds

"A richly realized story of swordplay and intrigue." - Entertainment Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top