We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

On the Shoulders of Giants


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Nicolaus Copernicus (1473-1543): his life and work; "On the Revolution of Heavenly Spheres. Galileo Galilei (1564-1642) - his life and work; "Dialogues Concerning Two Sciences". Johannes Kepler (1571-1630): his life and work; "Harmony of the World" book five. Sir Isaac Newton (1643-1727): his life and work; "Principia". Albert Einstein (1879-1955): his life and work; selections from "The Principle of Relativity".

About the Author

Theoretical physicist Stephen Hawking is Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at Cambridge (Newton's old position). He is the author of A BRIEF HISTORY OF TIME, which remained on the New York Times bestseller list for a record-breaking 237 weeks. Curiously, Hawking was born 300 years to the day after Galileo died.


Physicist and author Stephen Hawking (A Brief History of Time) has compiled an anthology of seminal works by Nicolaus Copernicus, Galileo Galilei, Johannes Kepler, Isaac Newton and Albert Einstein. On the Shoulders of Giants: The Great Works of Physics and Astronomy includes Newton's Principia, Einstein's Principle of Relativity and other writings, along with a short biographical chapter on each scientist. Hawking comments on all of the pieces, tracing the ways in which each man was influenced by his predecessors, and the great conceptual strides that these pioneers made. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

..".Hawking gives these works a setting that is elegantly simple, and in its simplicity, effectively broadening."

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Science » Physics
Home » Books » Science » History
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top