Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Oracle of the Dead (SPQR)
By

Rating
Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

John Maddox Roberts is the author of numerous works of science fiction and fantasy in addition to his SPQR series set in Ancient Rome. He and his wife live in New Mexico.

Reviews

Magistrate Decius Cacilius Metellus is in southern Italy, trying to stay out of the impending conflict between Pompey and Julius Caesar. On a visit to Hecate's Oracle of the Dead, his wife finds the body of a priest of Apollo whose temple is right next to the Oracle. Roberts's 12th Roman mystery is a believable story of murder, greed, and the political nimbleness necessary to stay alive in ancient Rome. Sure to appeal to readers of Lindsay Davis and Albert A. Bell. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Civil war looms between the forces of Julius Caesar and Pompey, providing an ominous background for Roberts's compelling 12th Roman historical to feature Decius Caecilius Metellus (after 2007's SPQR XI: Under Vesuvius). Recently raised to the post of praetor peregrinus, Metellus is enjoying traveling outside Rome hearing cases involving foreigners, but he gets an unexpected shock at the Oracle of the Dead near the southern Italian town of Baiae. The corpse of Eugaeon, a priest of Apollo, surfaces in the rushing stream of water inside the oracle's temple. Oddly, Eugaeon's body shows no sign of violence but is completely hairless. After the priest's missing colleagues, initially the prime suspects, also turn up dead, the astute sleuth comes to believe that these current killings are but the latest of many. Metellus puts his own life at risk in an exciting case that engages the attention of Pompey himself. (Dec.) Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Metellus puts his own life at risk in an exciting case that engages the attention of Pompey himself. "Publishers Weekly"

The 12th Decius mystery is as crisp and absorbing as its predecessors. "Kirkus Reviews"

Roberts's 12th Roman mystery is a believable story of murder, greed, and the political nimbleness necessary to stay alive in ancient Rome. Sure to appeal to readers of Lindsay Davis and Albert A. Bell. "Library Journal""


Metellus puts his own life at risk in an exciting case that engages the attention of Pompey himself. Publishers Weekly

The 12th Decius mystery is as crisp and absorbing as its predecessors. Kirkus Reviews

Roberts's 12th Roman mystery is a believable story of murder, greed, and the political nimbleness necessary to stay alive in ancient Rome. Sure to appeal to readers of Lindsay Davis and Albert A. Bell. Library Journal

"

"Metellus puts his own life at risk in an exciting case that engages the attention of Pompey himself." --Publishers Weekly

"The 12th Decius mystery is as crisp and absorbing as its predecessors." --Kirkus Reviews

"Roberts's 12th Roman mystery is a believable story of murder, greed, and the political nimbleness necessary to stay alive in ancient Rome. Sure to appeal to readers of Lindsay Davis and Albert A. Bell." --Library Journal

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top