We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Ordinary Grace: A Novel
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

William Kent Krueger is the award-winning author of the New York Times bestselling Ordinary Grace, winner of the Edgar Award for best novel, as well as eighteen Cork O'Connor novels, including Desolation Mountain and Sulfur Springs. He lives in the Twin Cities with his family. Visit his website at WilliamKentKrueger.com.

Reviews

"Pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative. . . . In Frank Drum's journey away from the shores of childhood-a journey from which he can never return-we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and its 'wisdoms.' I loved this book." -- Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night and The Given Day
"Krueger's elegy for innocence is a deeply memorable tale." * Washington Post *
"A respected mystery writer turns his attention to the biggest mystery of all: God. An award-winning author for his long-running Cork O' Connor series, Krueger aims higher and hits harder with a standalone novel that shares much with his other work.... 'the awful grace of God,' as it manifests itself within the novel, would try the faith of the most devout believer. Yet, ultimately, the world of this novel is one of redemptive grace and mercy, as well as unidentified corpses and unexplainable tragedy. A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike." * Kirkus Reviews (starred) *
"...elegiac, evocative.... a resonant tale of fury, guilt, and redemption." * Publishers Weekly *
"Once in a blue moon a book drops down on your desk that demands to be read. You pick it up and read the first page, and then the second, and you are hooked. Such a book is Ordinary Grace. . . . This is a book that makes the reader feel better just by having been exposed to the delights of the story. It will stay with you for quite some time and you will always remember it with a smile." * Huffington Post *
"One cannot read Ordinary Grace without feeling as if it is destined to be hailed as a classic work of literature. Ordinary Grace is one of those very rare books in which one regrets reaching its end, knowing that the experience of having read it for the first time will never be repeated. Krueger, who is incapable of writing badly, arguably has given us his masterpiece." * BookReporter.com *
"My best read so far this year." * ReviewingtheEvidence.com *
"A thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Don't take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary." * BookPage *
"Not often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting." * Denver Post *
"Ordinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart." * The Missourian *
"There's such a quiet beauty in his prose and such depth to his characters that I was completely captivated." * Minneapolis Star-Tribune *
"A superb literary novel." * New York Journal of Books *
"...the tone is much like To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia." * Detroit News *
"Everything about this book, from language to ideas to Aeschylus's epigram is beautiful and you'll think about it long after you're finished reading." * The Globe and Mail (Toronto) *
"I realized within pages this would be one of the best books I've read in recent years. The gathering threat and its consummation are satisfying and meaningful. This is an intelligent and compelling story told with great heart.... A perfect book club read, truly a book to love and read more than once. Absolutely recommended." * Historical Novel Society *
"Besides being a terrific story that examines a powerful range of human experiences and emotions, it was the authentic voice of the teenage narrator, Frank Drum, that kept me reading late into the night. Though the tone is quiet, Krueger artfully layered the story with suspenseful examinations of family life, death, fury, spiritual fiber and redemption." -- Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt
"Sometimes a work of fiction just comes to you, sits in your soul, touches your life experiences and then is hard to remember as fiction. Ordinary Grace by William Kent Kruger is such a novel." * Capital Journal *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top