We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Our Lady of Pain


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

MARION CHESNEY, the widely acclaimed author of historical romances, also writes the popular Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth mystery series under the name M.C. Beaton. Born in Scotland, she currently divides her time between the English Cotswolds and Paris.


Proper Edwardians Rose Summer and Capt. Harry Cathcart must contend with scandal and murder in their amusing fourth adventure (after 2004's Sick of Shadows) from British author Chesney (aka M.C. Beaton). When Harry is seen about London squiring Dolores Duval, a woman of ill-repute, Rose's father calls off his daughter's engagement to Harry and prepares once again to send Rose and her companion, Daisy, to India. Enraged, Rose confronts Duval and ends up threatening her-in a most unladylike manner-in front of numerous witnesses. Rose later has the misfortune of finding Duval's body and is immediately implicated in the murder. As is their wont, Rose and Daisy go on the lam, much to the chagrin of the Summer family, Harry and Scotland Yard. Readers will delight in the exploits of the fiery, increasingly independent Rose. As ever, Chesney shows herself a master of historical detail and color. (Apr.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

"A sparkling series.""-Publishers Weekly"

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top