Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Oxford Handbook of the Australian Constitution


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Anthony Mason: Foreword Adrienne Stone and Cheryl Saunders: IntroductionPart I: Foundations 1: Sean Brennan and Megan Davis: First Peoples 2: John Waugh: Settlement 3: Susan Crennan: Federation 4: Anne Twomey: Independence 5: Susan Kenny: Evolution 6: Patrick Emerton: IdeasPart II: Constitutional Domain 7: K M Hayne: Rule of Law 8: William Gummow: Common Law 9: Gabrielle Appleby: Unwritten Rules 10: Stephen Donoghue: International Law 11: Stephen Gageler: Comparative Law 12: Gerard Carney: State ConstitutionsPart III: Themes 13: Brendan Lim: Legitimacy 14: Elisa Arcioni: Citizenship 15: Lisa Burton Crawford and Jeffrey Goldsworthy: Constitutionalism 16: John Williams: Republicanism 17: William Gummow: Unity 18: Hilary Charlesworth: Australia in the International Legal OrderPart IV: Practice and Process 19: Kristen Walker: Authority of the High Court of Australia 20: Adrienne Stone: Judicial Reasoning 21: Susan Kiefel: Standards of Review 22: Jeremy Kirk: Justiciability and Relief 23: Peter Hanks and Olaf Ciolek: Techniques of AdjudicationPart V: Separation of Powers 24: Amelia Simpson: Parliaments 25: Terence Daintith and Yee-Fui Ng: Executives 26: Cheryl Saunders: Legislative and Executive Power 27: Nicholas Owens: Judicature and Jurisdiction 28: Michelle Foster: Separation of Judicial Power 29: Debbie Mortimer: Constitutionalization of Administrative LawPart VI: Federalism 30: Nicholas Aroney: Design 31: Mark Leeming: Power 32: Stephen McLeish: Money 33: Robert French: Co-operation 34: Justin Gleeson: Economic Union 35: Michael Crommelin: Federal Principle 36: James Stellios: Federal JurisdictionPart VII: Rights 37: Scott Stephenson: Rights Protection in Australia 38: Fiona Wheeler: Due Process 39: Adrienne Stone: Expression 40: Joo-Cheong Tham: Political Participation 41: Lael Weis: Property 42: Carolyn Evans: Religion 43: Denise Meyerson: Equality 44: Dan Meagher: Legality

About the Author

Cheryl Saunders is a Laureate Professor Emeritus at Melbourne Law School. She has specialist interests in Australian and comparative public law, including comparative constitutional law and methods, intergovernmental relations and constitutional design and change, on all of which she has written widely. Professor Saunders is a President Emeritus of the International Association of Constitutional Law, a former President of the International Association of Centres for Federal Studies, a former President of the Administrative Review Council of Australia and a senior technical adviser to the Constitution Building program of International IDEA. Professor Saunders was the founding Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Law. She has held visiting positions in law schools in many parts of the world. Professor Adrienne Stone holds a Chair at Melbourne Law School where she is also an ARC Kathleen Fitzpatrick Laureate Fellow and Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies.Professor Stone researches in constitutional law and constitutional theory with particular attention to freedom of expression, the theoretical underpinnings of rights and judicial method in constitutional cases. She has published widely on these topics. Her Laureate Fellowship on the theme 'Balancing Diversity and Social Cohesion in Democratic Constitutions' investigates how Constitutions, in their design and in their application, can unify while nurturing the diversity appropriate for a complex, modern society. She is First Vice President of the International Association of Constitutional Law, Vice President of the Australian Association of Constitutional Law, and is an elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top