We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Payback
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The brand new nerve-shattering thriller from the highly--acclaimed author of 'The Inside Ring', perfect for fans of Lee Child. / Conspiracy, assassins and deadly betrayal -- all the ingredients of a blockbuster thriller. / Perfect all the fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci. / Strong new packaging to ensure stand-out in store / Mike Lawson's debut novel 'The Inside Ring' was a highly acclaimed thriller on both sides of the Atlantic. / Competition: Lee Child, David Baldacci, Joseph Finder

About the Author

Mike Lawson is a former nuclear engineer who turned to full-time writing in May 2003. He lives with his family in the United States.

Reviews

Joe DeMarco returns for a second adventure after last year's excellent debut, The Inside Ring. This time out DeMarco, an unofficial operative for the Speaker of the House, is asked to casually look into a security company that may be price gouging the government for its services at a U.S. naval base. However, DeMarco's innocent investigation quickly becomes a deadly matter of national security, involving stolen top secret information, murder and a ruthless Chinese agent out for revenge. Poe does an excellent job reading this complex thriller, providing just the right pace to keep the thrill quality of the material high, yet pulls back when needed in order to present the more human and less melodramatic aspects. He is especially adept in bringing out the humor laced lightly through the book. Poe gives DeMarco a ruffled, slightly put-upon but ultimately heroic persona, a solid, multileveled characterization. Karen DiMattia's abridgment should also be noted, as her judicious cutting manages to keep the story moving at a ready clip but never sacrifices coherency or character. Simultaneous release with the Doubleday hardcover (Reviews, May 29). (July) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Praise for 'The Inside Ring' 'This assured first novel shows Michael Lawson to be a talented storyteller, and DeMarco makes a likeable hero as he follows an intricate trail through some typically murky American politics.' Daily Telegraph 'Mike Lawson shows every understanding of the skills required of a thriller writer to keep a reader fully engaged and utterly thrilled.' Guardian 'Mike Lawson writes a mean thriller and has a sense of humour that hurts. I love this one.' Independent on Sunday 'Smart, original, crafted with true insider knowledge, brimming with vivid characters and with a forward drive that just won't quit!I couldn't put it down.' Vince Flynn, author of 'Memorial Day'

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Back to top