Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Pelagia and the White Bulldog
By

Rating
New or Used: US$12.21
Canine conspiracies, spurned lovers, murderous greed, jealousy, politics, power and knitting: Pelagia and the White Bulldog marks the beginning of an addictively entertaining new crime series from the internationally bestselling author, Boris Akunin.In the dying days of the nineteenth century, the small Russian town of Zavolzhsk is shaken out of its sleepy rural existence by the arrival from St Petersburg of a Synodical Inspector with a hidden agenda and a dangerously persuasive manner. Meanwhile, in the nearby country estate of Drozdovka, one of the prized white Bulldogs - prized because of its one brown ear, and its propensity to drool - belonging to the cantankerous lady of the house has been poisoned. The old widow has taken to her bed, sick with fear that her two remaining dogs may face a similar fate, and the many potential beneficiaries of her will wait fretfully to see whether or not she will recover.Sister Pelagia: bespectacled, freckled, woefully clumsy and astonishingly resourceful is summoned by the Bishop of Zavolzhsk to investigate the bulldog's death. But her investigation soon takes a far more sinister turn when two headless bodies are pulled out of the river on the edge of the estate.
Product Details

Promotional Information

Boris Akunin is the bestselling master of detective fiction This is the first book in a trilogy about a young nun from the 19th-century Russian town of Zavolzhsk, who possesses the aptitude to solve crimes through the application of her keen powers of observation Pelagia is firmly in the tradition of both Miss Marple and Father Brown, and in the light of Precious Ramotswe's popularity, there should be a waiting readership eager for an unusual new female detective 'Akunin...seems able to carry off whatever detective genre he turns his hand to, and makes no bones about incorporating his diverse knowledge into his books' plots. The result is a barnstorming success' Time Out 'The plot is lively and full of twists, the characters are strong, the denouement is exciting. And the not very nunnish nun is immensely appealing' The Times

About the Author

Boris Akunin is the pseudonym of Grigory Chkhartishvili. He translated Japanese texts before the worldwide success of his Fandorin series. He lives in Moscow.

Reviews

"Boris Akunin gets better, and better. Sister Pelagia and the White Bulldog is immensely compelling, rich, and amusing -- more than a little seductive, slightly mad, and wildly entertaining." -- Alan Furst

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top