The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy (Penderwicks)
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Girls & Women

The Penderwicks [Audio]

A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy (Penderwicks)

By Jeanne Birdsall, Susan Denaker (Read by), Listening Library (Created by)

Elsewhere US$37.44 US$31.99   Save 15%
Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from USA
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Rating:
 
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: CD-Audio
Published In: United States, 01 January 2006
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner andNew York Timesbestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures. The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will won t they? One thing s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget. Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day. From the Hardcover edition."

About the Author

When JEANNE BIRDSALL was young, she promised herself she'd be a writer someday--so she could write books for children to read and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is now the author of the Penderwicks series: The Penderwicks, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, and The Penderwicks at Point Mouette. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Reviews

Gr 4-6-In Jeanne Birdsall's humorous novel (Knopf, 2005), four motherless sisters-Rosalind, 12, Skye, 11, Jane, 10, and Batty, 4-their absentminded professor dad, and the family dog share a summer retreat on the Massachusetts estate of Arundel. Owned by the frosty Mrs. Tifton and her lonely son, Jeffrey, Arundel's pretentious mistress treats the oddly-matched Penderwick sisters and their doting father as social misfits. Feisty Skye and sensitive Jeffrey become best friends, drawing the reluctant Mrs. Tifton and the entire Penderwick clan into a series of hilarious misadventures, including runaway pets, an encounter with a bull, and a first crush. The sisters are determined to help Jeffrey escape being sent to the Pencey Military Academy, "Where boys become men and men become soldiers." Susan Denaker's gentle narration of this 2005 National Book Award winner perfectly captures the subtle humor and charm of each character. Fans of Sydney Taylor's All-of-a-Kind Family or Maud Hart's Betsy-Tacy novels will love this updated version of a comfortable childhood adventure. Just the ticket for an extended family car trip.-Celeste Steward, Alameda County Library, Fremont, CA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

In our Best Books citation, PW said, "This timeless tale [and National Book Award winner] from a first-time author introduces the incomparable Penderwicks, on vacation in a rental cottage on a sprawling estate where lonely young Jeffrey lives. The sisters' delightfully diverse personalities propel the plot." Ages 8-12. (Mar.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Also making an appearance are a lonely young boy and a dependable yet dopey dog. Birdsall excels in developing characters, and her motley crew grows and develops in intriguing ways in this deeply enjoyable story of family and friendship. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

"Problems are solved and lessons learned in this wonderful, humorous book that features characters whom readers will immediately love, as well as a superb writing style. Bring on more of the Penderwicks!" --School and Library Journal, starred From the Hardcover edition. Problems are solved and lessons learned in this wonderful, humorous book that features characters whom readers will immediately love, as well as a superb writing style. Bring on more of the Penderwicks! --School and Library Journal, starred From the Hardcover edition." " Problems are solved and lessons learned in this wonderful, humorous book that features characters whom readers will immediately love, as well as a superb writing style. Bring on more of the Penderwicks!" --"School and Library Journal," starred "From the Hardcover edition."

EAN: 9780307284518
ISBN: 0307284514
Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
Dimensions: 15.9 x 14.2 x 2.6 centimeters (0.20 kg)
Age Range: 5-9 years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Review this Product

BAD GOOD
 

Related Searches

 

This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.