We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Penelopiad (Canons)


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Margaret Atwood is the author of more than thirty books of fiction, poetry and critical essays.

In addition to the classic The Handmaid's Tale, her novels include Cat's Eye, shortlisted for the Booker Prize, Alias Grace, which won the Giller Prize in Canada and the Premio Mondello in Italy, The Blind Assassin, winner of the 2000 Booker Prize and Oryx and Crake, shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Her most recent novel, The Year of the Flood, was published in 2009. She was awarded the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature in 2008.


Atwood takes Penelope's part with tremendous verve . . . she explores the very nature of mythic story-telling
* * Guardian * *

As potent as a curse
* * Sunday Times * *

Fabulous . . . Determinedly irreverent
* * New York Times * *

A witty desecration . . . Atwood plays with vigour and ingenuity
* * Observer * *

Pragmatic, clever, domestic, mournful, Penelope is a perfect Atwood heroine
* * Spectator * *

Half Dorothy Parker, half Desperate Housewives
* * Independent * *

Atwood and all authors named above are able to grasp the female experience perfectly in myths dominated by men, creating beautifully rounded and realistic characters from those created as ornaments and prizes by Homer
* * The Courier * *

Nothing short of genius
* * Week * *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.

Back to top