We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Poacher's Son
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Paul Doiron is the editor-in-chief of Down East: The Magazine of Maine. A native of Maine, he attended Yale University, where he graduated with a degree in English, and he holds an MFA in creative writing from Emerson College. Paul is a Registered Maine Guide and lives on a trout stream in coastal Maine with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

Reviews

"[An] excellent debut . . . filled with murder, betrayal, and a terrific sense of place." --C. J. Box ". . . stunning vistas . . . eye-popping scenes." --New York Times Book Review "With precise and evocative prose, Paul Doiron weaves a riveting tale set deep in the wilderness that can be the tenuous bond between father and son. This is a compelling, moving, and utterly impressive debut!" --Andre Dubus III, author of The House of Sand and Fog "The Poacher's Son is a gripping, original, and literate tale of love and loyalty, betrayal and redemption. You won't want to put it down." --John Lescroart, author of A Plague of Secrets "One of the best-written debut novels I've read in years. This story has it all--a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting, and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters." --Nelson DeMille, author of The Gate House "Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut. . . . Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes." --Publishers Weekly (starred review) "The Poacher's Son is a haunting tale, and Paul Doiron is a powerful and evocative writer." --Tess Gerritsen, author of The Keepsake "Paul Doiron is a spellbinding new storyteller whose literate, intelligent novel will have readers begging for more." --Julia Spencer-Fleming, Edgar finalist and author of I Shall Not Want "A Maine Game Warden [Mike Bowditch] fights to clear his no-account father of murder charges in this deeply felt actioner. . . . His decision leads to a series of disastrously self-destructive actions that Doiron makes perfectly credible, all interspersed with a series of flashbacks to Mike's childhood that are both tender and chilling. C.J. Box goes East. Like Box, Doiron will have his hands full trying to top his accomplished debut." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "A richly imagined portrait of the vanishing wilderness in New England's farthest reaches, Doiron's well-written debut is also a taut thriller and thoughtful examination of the complicated relationship between father and son." --Library Journal (starred review, editor's choice) "An outstanding gripping debut . . . The Poacher's Son moves at a brisk pace with unpredictable but realistic twists that reach a crescendo at the shocking finale. . . . one of the best debuts of the year." --Sun Sentinel "With realistically flawed characters and a strong sense of place the novel avoids tourist stereotyping, of Maine itself and its citizens. . . . One hopes this fine novel is the first in a series starring Warden Bowditch, who could quickly become the East Coast version of C. J. Box's game-warden hero Joe Pickett, who patrols the range in Wyoming." --Booklist (starred review) "Impressive. . . . The setting is wildly atmospheric, the pacing swift and the characters well drawn. The Poacher's Son is easily one of the best debut novels in recent memory." --BookPage "[An]impressive debut . . . there are plenty of twists and surprises to keep the reader guessing until the very end." --RT Book Review (four stars) "Stocked with excitement and trepidation . . . pure nail-biting fun. . . . Loaded with unexpected twists, The Poacher's Son takes you to the edge and leaves you begging for more. . ." --BookBrowse "Engaging . . . Doiron could do for Maine what the late Tony Hillerman did for the Southwest in his mysteries featuring Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee." --Bangor Daily News "Pure, unadulterated literary suspense. Beautifully crafted and perfectly paced . . . Doiron's writing is exceptional." --PopMatters

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top