We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Political Theory Without Borders


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vii

About the Contributors viii

1 Political Theory Without Borders: An Introduction 1
Robert E. Goodin and James S. Fishkin PART I Global Spillovers 5

2 To Prevent a World Wasteland: A Proposal 7
George F. Kennan

3 Two Kinds of Climate Justice: Avoiding Harm and Sharing Burdens 18
Simon Caney

4 The Human Right to Water and Common Ownership of the Earth 46
Mathias Risse PART II Global Flows 75

5 Tax Competition and Global Background Justice 77
Peter Dietsch and Thomas Rixen

6 Sovereign Debt, Human Rights, and Policy Conditionality 107
Christian Barry

7 Justice in the Diffusion of Innovation 133
Allen Buchanan, Tony Cole and Robert O. Keohane

8 From Migration in Geographic Space to Migration in Biographic Time: Views From Europe 162
Claus Offe

9 On Citizenship, States, and Markets 206
Ayelet Shachar and Ran Hirschl PART III Global Interventions 235

10 Colonialism as Structural Injustice: Historical Responsibility and Contemporary Redress 237
Catherine Lu

11 The Judging of Nations: Some Comments on the Assessment of Regimes in the New States 260
Clifford Geertz

12 From Humanitarian Intervention to the Responsibility to Protect 275
Gareth Evans

13 The Misuse of Power, Not Bad Representation: Why It Is Beside the Point that No One Elected Oxfam 293
Jennifer C. Rubenstein

Index 322

About the Author

Robert E. Goodin is Distinguished Professor of Philosophy and Social and Political Theory at Australian National University and a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy. The Founding Editor of The Journal of Political Philosophy, Dr. Goodin has published many books, including most recently Explaining Norms (2013 with G. Brennan, L. Eriksson and N. Southwood), On Complicity and Compromise (2013 with C. Lepora), and On Settling (2012). His book Discretionary Time: A New Measure of Freedom (2008 with J.M. Rice, A. Parpo and L. Eriksson) was awarded the International Social Science Council's Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research.James S. Fishkin holds the Janet M. Peck Chair in International Communication at Stanford University where he is Professor of Communication and Political Science (by courtesy) and Director of Stanford's Center for Deliberative Democracy. He is the author of a number of books, including When the People Speak: Deliberative Democracy and Public Consultation (2011), The Voice of the People: Public Opinion and Democracy (1995), and Democracy and Deliberation: New Directions for Democratic Reform (1991). A Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Science, he has co-edited the Philosophy, Politics and Society Series since 1979.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top