Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Power of Six
By

Rating
New or Used: US$10.89
New or Used: US$10.89

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Pittacus Lore is Lorien's ruling elder. He has been on Earth for the last twelve years preparing for the war that will decide Earth's fate. His whereabouts are unknown. The first book in his Lorien Legacies series, I Am Number Four, is now a major Disney motion picture and is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Reviews

Gr 9 Up-Following on the heels of the action-packed I Am Number Four (HarperCollins, 2010), The Power of Six opens with the introduction of a new character, Number Seven, also known as Marina, who, with her Garde, Adelina, has been confined to a convent in Spain for several years following their arrival by spaceship from the planet Lorien. One afternoon, while exploring the Internet for her allotted 10 minutes, she comes across a reference to John Smith of Ohio, which gives her the impetus to flee her relatively safe hideout and search for the remaining survivors. As they age, the Lorien children's Legacies, or powers, are beginning to emerge and strengthen, leading them to take the fight to the heart of the Mogadorian stronghold. While this second book in the proposed six-book series has many of the same weaknesses of the first-a lack of character development, pedestrian dialogue, and uneven continuity-the nonstop action and violence-packed fight sequences will keep fans of the first novel happy. Think Transformers and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles instead of Heinlein's Starship Troopers. Readers should expect mayhem and monsters rather than traditional science fiction, but the popularity of the first book and the movie will create a demand for this and subsequent titles.-Jane Henriksen Baird, Anchorage Public Library, AK (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"The action is taut, the characters are fascinating, and the fact that the teens are slowly finding one another and learning about Lorien secrets is sure to yield an impressive all-out battle down the road. This series continues to head in interesting directions."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top