Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Science Fiction, Fantasy, Magic

Quintana Of Charyn

By Melina Marchetta

US$33.28  
Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from NZ
Rating:
 
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Paperback, 528 pages, 3rd edition Edition
Published In: Australia, 28 January 2015
Internationally bestselling and award-winning author Melina Marchetta weaves an accomplished and breathtaking blend of love, suspense and adventure in this unforgettable final volume in her epic fantasy series, The Lumatere Chronicles. Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child's right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn and Isaboe of Lumatere come face-to-face in a showdown that will result in heartbreak for one and power for the other. A dramatic conclusion to Printz Award--winner Melina Marchetta's epic fantasy trilogy. Praise for Quintana of Charyn- 'Marchetta, known for her mastery of character, shows herself here to have conquered the intricacies of plot, worldbuilding and theme...Readers will have a hard time forgetting the complex, deeply human characters that populate this multifaceted narrative.' Kirkus Reviews (starred review) ' T he book will mesmerize readers with several hair-raising moments that ratchet up tension; memorably detailed descriptions provide vivid images of the setting; and Marchetta's themes of belonging and forgiveness are powerfully wrought. Fans of Megan Whelan Turner and Elizabeth Wein should find this exceptional series especially compelling.' The Horn Book 'Like the other books, this one begs to be read slowly and savored for its carefully crafted plotting, lyrical language, and fully fleshed-out characters.' School Library Journal 'Marchetta triumphantly concludes the trilogy that began with Finnikin of the Rock, as the kingdoms of Lumatere and Charyn attempt to bridge past atrocities through a new generation of leaders...One of the hallmarks of this series has been the complexity and attention Marchetta gives to both primary and secondary characters, creating a richly human cast of damaged but noble individuals...Readers who have fallen in love with Quintana, Froi, Finnikin, Isaboe, and others will eagerly seek out what fate has in store for them.' Publishers Weekly (starred review) 'The plot is more straightforward, while the previous volumes' excellent features - world-building, plotting, and characterization - continue to shine. Marchetta builds on the reader's knowledge of this world, adding rich sensory details to enhance the sense of place...A stand-out fantasy series.' Booklist (starred review) 'Recommend this book for readers of high-brow, realistic fantasy who enjoy stories with just a touch of the magical.' VOYA 'All I can say is, I immediately reread it because I didn't want to say good-bye to these people. And it's a Favorite Book Read in 2013.' A Chair, A Fireplace, and a Tea Cozy (SLJ blog) ' T hose who have read the first two volumes of the Lumatere Chronicles will find this thrilling conclusion both heartbreaking and utterly satisfying. Yet again, Marchetta seamlessly weaves together the personal and the political, exploring the larger societal implications of her characters' actions while keeping a tight focus on their emotional lives. The obstacles in the relationships among her main characters mirror the tensions built by prejudices and ignorance throughout their lands, and the setbacks they experience as they work toward peace, both as a community and as individuals, are painfully authentic. The romances are sweet but tempered by reality, the triumphs are great but leave many scars, and even the ...ending here is bittersweet in its resolution. It's a suitably impressive conclusion to an epic series.' Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author

Melina Marchetta is one of Australia's most successful writers of young-adult fiction and is a best-selling and critically acclaimed author in more than twenty countries and in eighteen languages. In 2009 Marchetta won the prestigious Michael L. Printz Award from the American Library Association for On the Jellicoe Road, and Melina's screenplay for this book is currently set to be made into a major film with an international cast to be directed by Looking for Alibrandi director Kate Woods. Melina has written for ABC-TV's Dance Academy. Finnikin of the Rock, Book One of the Lumatere Chronicles,was first published in Australia in 2008, followed in 2010 by the companion novel to her award-winning book Saving Francesca, The Piper's Son, long-listed for the Miles Franklin Award and short-listed for many other literary awards in Australia and internationally. Melina is also the author of The Gorgon in the Gully, which takes up the story of On the Jellicoe Road's Jonah Griggs's family, and stars his younger brother Danny in this story for younger readers. Book Two in the Lumatere Chronicles, Froi of the Exiles, was published in 2011, and Book Three, Quintana of Charyn, was published in 2012. 2012 also marked the twenty-year anniversary of Melina Marchetta's first novel Looking for Alibrandi, the much-loved Au

EAN: 9780143569244
ISBN: 0143569244
Publisher: Penguin Books Australia
Dimensions: 20 x 12.9 x 3.3 centimeters (0.33 kg)
Age Range: 10-14 years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Review this Product

BAD GOOD
 

Related Searches