We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Race To The Sun
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Rebecca Roanhorse (www.RebeccaRoanhorse.com) is a Black/Indigenous (Ohkay Owingeh) writer of speculative fiction, including the New York Times best-selling Resistance Reborn, two adult books in the Sixth World series, Trail of Lightning and Storm of Locusts, and a Nebula and Hugo-winning short story, Welcome to Your Authentic Indian Experience. Race to the Sun is her middle grade debut. Before she became a full-time writer, Rebecca was a lawyer who worked behalf of Native Americans. She lives in Northern New Mexico with her Navajo husband and their daughter. Follow her on Twitter @RoanhorseBex.

Reviews

Fans of Hugo and Nebula winner Roanhorse (Ohkay Owingeh) will appreciate her fast-paced prose, page-turning chapter endings, and most of all, strong female protagonist. By reimagining a traditional story in a contemporary context, populating it with faceted Native characters, and centering it on and around the Navajo Nation, Roanhorse shows that Native stories are active and alive.Native readers will see themselves as necessary heroes while readers of all walks will want to be their accomplices.--Kirkus
Roanhorse (the Sixth World series for adults), who is Ohkay Owingeh and African-American, draws on her husband's heritage to reimagine Navajo stories and characters, delivering a fast-paced, exciting adventure. While the antagonists could stand further development, Nizhoni's blend of snark, confidence, and humor proves as multifaceted as the satisfying tale's focus on friendship, family, and cultural legacy.--Publishers Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top